7 Cong MLAs from Vaghela camp quit Assembly


The seven rebel Congress MLAs from Shankersinh Vaghela camp who were expelled from the party couple of days back on Friday resigned from the State Legislative Assembly.

Talking to media persons, Gujarat Assembly Speaker Ramanlal Vora said he had accepted resignations of all the seven MLAs. These seven legislators had voted against Congress official candidate Ahmed Patel in Rajya Sabha polls that saw Patel, BJP president Amit Shah and Union Textiles Minister Smriti Irani making it to the Upper House of Parliament.

Those who resigned from the assembly are Vaghela’s son and Bayad legislator Mahendrasinh Vaghela, two legislators whose votes were declared invalid in Rajya Sabha polls – Raghavji Patel representing Jamnagar rural constituency and Bholabhai Gohil of Jasdan constituency in Rajkot district. The others who quit Assembly include Godhra legislator C K Raulji, Mansa legislator Amit Chaudhari, Jamanagar (North) legislator Dharmendrasinh Jadeja and Sanand legislator Karamshi Patel. Karamshi was one of the 44 legislators who had been to Bengaluru but cross-voted on the polling day against Ahmed Patel.

According to Vora,  Sanand legislator Patel told him that  during the voting, he was being prodded by Congress election agent Shaktisinh Gohil to show his vote to BJP election agent present then. “Karamshi Patel claimed that he was instigated by the election officer of Congress to show his vote to election officer of BJP. However, he did not show it,” he added while talking to reporters.

The claim later substantiated by Karamshi and said that on being told to show his vote to BJP election agent, he refused. He further said that he took the decision to vote against Ahmed Patel in a spur of moment and that there was no money that changed hands.

“God has given me enough and there was no financial involvement. Neither Congress nor BJP had offered any money for my vote. I will join BJP now along with other legislators,’’ he added.

Since July last week, 13 Congress legislators out of 57 have resigned from the assembly. Shankersinh Vaghela has quit the Congress party, but yet not resigned as an MLA. 



Sunday Edition

View All

I am with you, Pawar tells victims of social media trolls

15 Oct 2017 | IANS | Mumbai

Coming out in support of young victims of social media trolls, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) President Sharad Pawar on Saturday exhorted them to speak out against the wrong policies of the Government and oppose growing incidents of intolerance and fascism across India. In an unique initiative, Pawar met around 35 youngsters who have been threatened on social media and/or booked by police for speaking out their minds against the Government and...

Read More


View All

Women power to rule lower judiciary in Jharkhand

19 Oct 2017 | SUMAN K SHRIVASTAVA | Ranchi

There may be glaring gender disparity in the top courts, including Supreme Court and various high courts in the country, but Jharkhand is all set to get gender balance in appointment of judges in subordinate judiciary at the entry level. Of the 46 candidates recommended by the Jharkhand Public Service Commission (JPSC) a few days back to be appointed as Civil Judge (Junior division), earlier known as Munsif Magistrates, 22 are...

Read More

Page generated in 1.1502 seconds.