Nirmala Sitharaman, Piyush Goyal become members of key Cabinet committees

| | New Delhi

Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman and Railway Minister Piyush Goyal have become members of key cabinet committees like Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS) and Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs (CCPA) reconstituted after the September 3 reshuffle when the two were promoted to the Cabinet ranks.

Sitharaman and Goyal, along with Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, have also been included as permanent members of the Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs (CCEA). The erstwhile Railway Minster  Suresh Prabhu was not a part of CCPA. In December 2014, Health Minister JP Nadda was included in the CCPA though his predecessor Harsh Vardhan was not part of CCPA.

BJP allies Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Anant Geete, Ram Vilas Paswan and Ashok Gajapati Raju continue in CCPA.

Six Cabinet committees were reconstituted on September 11 and all except the Appointments Committee of Cabinet (ACC) have seen changes after the September 3 Ministry reshuffle.

Housing and Urban Development Minister (Independent charge) Hardeep  Puri, has been included as a special invitee to the Cabinet Committee on Accommodation.

Social Justice Minister TC Gehlot has for the first time been included in the Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs. The two new Ministers of State for Parliamentary Affairs, Vijay Goel and Arjun Ram Meghwal, have been included as special invitees to the panel, in place of their predecessors MA Naqvi and SS Ahluwalia.

Uma Bharti, who was divested of her Water Resources Ministry portfolio, is not a member of any of the Cabinet committees.

After her elevation as Defence Minister, Sitharaman has already become a member of the Cabinet committee on security headed by the Prime Minister. The other members are Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj.

Vijay Goel, who has been made the Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs, is part of the reconstituted Parliamentary Affairs Ministry.



Sunday Edition

View All

Globe Trotting

21 Jan 2018 | Agencies

67 Afghan force members freed from Taliban Kabul: Afghan security forces have freed 67 soldiers and police officials from a Taliban-run jail in Afghanistan's Helmand province, officials said on Saturday. The rescue operation was launched in Baghram district and 20 of the freed hostages were taken to neighbouring Kandahar province...

Read More


View All

Street play on gender equality staged

21 Jan 2018 | Staff Reporter | Bhopal

A street play on gender equality ‘Sab Barabar’ was performed in city’s 10. No market here on Saturday...

Read More

Page generated in 0.2094 seconds.