State Editions

BJP holds silent protests across State


BJP leaders and activists organised silent demonstrations at all district headquarters, municipalities and NACs across the State in protest against the recent egg attacks on Union Ministers Jual Oram and Radha Mohan Singh.

Party activists led by Ganjam district president Kanhu Charan Pati sat on a dharna at Gaadhinagar Square in Brahmapur.

Among others, party’s Brahmapur Mandal president Prafulla Kumar Panigrhai, Prabhat Sarangi, vice-president Prabir Patro, Satya Bastia and Krushna Sahu were present. Alleging that BJD leaders used Congress workers for pelting eggs at Oram, they demanded actions against the culprits.

They said the BJP would continue to fight for protection of Odia people’s rights.

Similarly, leaders and workers of the party’s Koraput district unit observed a silent demonstration at Jeypore by covering their faces with black clothes and demanded arrest of all those involved in egg pelting at Union Ministers. They alleged that the State Government has even failed to provide protection to common people.

Jeypore town president Amar Lal Ahuja, State executive member Devendra Bahinipati, Baidyanath Mishra and Lakshmi Narayan Ladhi sat on the dharna, among others.

In Balangir, party activists led by district president Rakesh Mishra and  Bhakta Bandhu Nayak staged such a protest at the district Collector’s office.

Kandhamal BJP leaders and workers too condemned attacks on the Union Ministers by the BJD. They staged a demonstration at the Collectorate at Phulbani.

Among others, district president Lingaraj Dalabehera, secretary Bhagaban Mahanty, Satya Narayan Behera and Kamala Kant Pandey sat on the dharna. .

At all the places, party activists too condemned the gangrape incident of Dhenkanal district’s Kankadahada block.




Sunday Edition

Page generated in 0.5241 seconds.