State Editions

State BJP split into ten groups: BJD

| | BHUBANESWAR | in Bhubaneswar

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Odisha is divided into as many as “ten groups” and its claim of securing 120+ seats in the 147-member State Assembly is a daydream, said Biju Janata Dal (BJD) leaders on Saturday.

Ministers Surjya Narayan Patro and Pradeep Maharathy stated this trying to ridicule BJP leader and Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan’s remarks made earlier in the day against the BJD and the Naveen Patnaik Government.

Pradhan had repeated his allegation that there are “Constitutional distortions” are witnessed in the State with an officer of the Third Floor (Chief Minister’s Office) ruling the roost not only in the administration but in political affairs, for which the BJD is now ridden with factionalism. He obviously referred to the charges of BJD MP Baijayant Panda and former MLA Ramaranjan Baliarsingh, who recently resigned from the BJD, against the Third Floor’s political interference.

Surjya Patro, reacting to Pradhan’s statement on intra-BJD factionalism, commented “Godari lo Nija Goda ku Ana”, an Odia proverb virtually meaning “Better look at yourself” (that “your BJP has ten groups”)

“The BJD is one and its only leader is Naveen Patnaik and we are working for Odisha’s development,” Patro asserted.

Maharathy pooh-poohed Pradhan’s claim that the BJP would dislodge the “inefficient” BJD Government in the next elections as people are no more enamoured of the Naveen Patnaik rule.

On Pradhan’s observation about a Constitutional crisis in the State, Maharathy tried to taunt the former, asking whether he thinks himself as a great Constitutionalist and know-all expert.   



Sunday Edition

Page generated in 0.1952 seconds.