• 0


Monday, 04 January 2016 | PNS

Odisha Blues win in E league Cricket

Bhubaneswar: A four wicket haul by Saroj Barik of Odisha Blues guided the team to beat Odisha Greens by eight wickets in the E league Cricket at IMMT Cricket Ground here on Sunday.

Odisha Blues won the toss and elected to field first. Swayam Singh again led the way with the new ball, picking up three quick wickets. However spinner Saroj Barik, who picked up four wickets for only 19 runs in his stipulated 8 overs. The Greens were eventually bundled out for a paltry 82 runs.

The Blues reached their target with ease in only 17.1 overs. Saroj of the winning team bagged the man of the match award.

Brief Score: Odisha Greens 82/10 in 35.1 overs (Subhakant Mohapatra 18, Saroj Barik 4/19, Swayam Singh 3/13) lost to Odisha Blues 83/2 in 17.1 overs (Sumitosh Praharaj 31, Payas Ranjan Sinha 29) by 8 wickets.

12-member state squad to join National TT Meet

Bhubaneswar: A 12-member State squad including two officials is going to participate in the 77th Senior Inter State and National Table Tennis Championship-2015, which is going to be held at Kotla Vijay Bhaskar Reddy Indoor Stadium, Yousufguda in Hyderabad from January 5 to 10.

Players name: Tousif Haque, Bikash Singh, Saswat Samal, Sagar Ghatge, Md Azhar, Md Yunus, Ananya Basak, Samartha Prusty, Poushali Ghatak, Ankita Senapati, Raj.S.Subramanaim (coach/managar), Tapan Kha (umpire).

Deo, Satapathy receive Kamal Ganguly Sports award

Bhubaneswar: Eminent athletics coach Nila Madhab Deo received the 4th Kamal Ganguly Memorial Sports Award for the year 2015 here at Sahid Sporting Groundon Sunday. Deo, who groomed a number of prominent athletes, including international sprinters Srabani Nanda, Dutee Chand and Amiya Kumar Mallick, conferred with the award along with purse of Rs 20,000 at a special function.

 Besides Deo, Arjuna Awardee weightlifter Bijay Kumar Satpathy was honoured with the 2nd lifetime Achievement Award on the occasion.

Satapathy claimed national titles in the year 1977, 1978, 1979, 1981 and 1982. He was appeared in seven international events and bagged five international medals.

Instituted in the year 2012 by leading local cricket club Saheed Sporting as a tribute to eminent cricket coach Kamal Ganguly, the main award was earlier received by Kishore Mania (cricket), Jose Jacob (rowing) and Nanda Kishore Patnaik (football). The first lifetime Achievement Award was conferred on former Odisha cricket captain Madan Mohan Mohanty. MCl Chief manager Sanjib Kumar Bhuyan, Santosh Kumar Samantary, Olympian lajrus Barla, International cricketer Debasis Mohanty and Sahid Sporting secretary Pankaj Pattnaik were present in the function.

Nirmal, Priya shines in Secretariat Cup cricket

Bhubaneswar: A four wicket haul by Nirmal Biswal of Directorate of Agriculture powered the team to beat Bank of India by 18 runs and entered the super league round of the 17th Secretariat Cup Cricket Tournament at Kalinga Stadium here on Sunday.

In another match of the day, Priya Ranjan Das of Rohan Hero scalped four wickets by giving 10 runs and the team edged out Airtel by 13 runs. Priya and Nirmal both from the winning team bagged the man of the match award. Infosys and TCS would take on Vodafone and Gridco respectively on January 9.

Brief score: Rohan Hero 121/5 in 15 overs (Debasis Sahoo 22 n.o; Manoj Rao 35; Simadri Das 2 wkts) beat Airtel 108/5 in 15 overs (Samir Behera 51, Subasis PRadhan 31; Priya Ranjan Das 4/10) by 13 runs.

Directorate of Agriculture 117/4 in 20 overs (Salim Khan 48 n.o) beat Bank of India 99/10 in 19.3 over (Tushar Kanta Palai 20; Nirmal Biswal 4/21, Sanjay Behera 2 wkt) by 18 runs.

ECoR enter Tamando Cup semis

Bhubaneswar: East Coast Railway (ECoR) barged into the semifinal of the 24th All Odisha Tamando Cup football Tournament by defeating RK Academy Kanapur by 2-0 at Tamando here on Sunday. Sk Mustakin of ECoR drew the first blood in the 21st minutes. After the lemon breaks Suraj Marandi double the lead in the 51st minutes, Mustakin of the winning team received the man of the match award. In the last quarterfinal round on Monday, Phulbani Football Association will take on Club 73.

UP beat Odisha in Syed Mustaq Ali T20 Cricket

Bhubaneswar: Opener Prashant Gupta hit a quickfire fifty before spinners turned on the heat to help Uttar Pradesh outplay Odisha by 32 runs in the Group D Twenty20 cricket match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy at Barabati Stadium in Cuttack on Sunday.

Put into bat at the Barabati Stadium, UP rode on a 84-run second wicket partnership between Gupta (53) and captain Eklavya Dwivedi (47) to post a challenging 150 for five in 20 overs.

UP spinners, Amit Mishra, Kuldeep Yadav and Piyush Chawla, then shared two wickets apiece to help UP restrict Odisha to 118 for eight.

Pace spearhead Praveen Kumar, who shared a wicket with new-ball partner Ankit Rajpoot, gave UP their first breakthrough and the spinners soon spun into action.

Roshan Kumar Rao top-scored with a gutsy 31 not out, while skipper Govinda Poddar hit 22 runs as rest of the batting disappointed. With the win UP gained four points.

Brief Scores: Uttar Pradesh: 150/5 in 20 overs (Prashant Gupta 53, Eklavya Dwivedi 47; Alok Chandra Sahoo 2-23, Biplab Samantray 2-17) beat Odisha 118/8 in 20 overs (Roshan Kumar Rao 31 not out, Govinda Poddar 22; Amit Mishra 2-32, Kuldeep Yadav 2-24, Piyush Chawla 2-18)by 32 runs.

Sunday Edition

Game on!

18 August 2019 | Pioneer | Agenda

Krishna, the nation builder

18 August 2019 | Dr. Asha Goswami | Agenda

Happiness in digital world

18 August 2019 | Dr Awdhesh Singh | Agenda

Faith does more than heal

18 August 2019 | Ajit Kumar Bishnoi | Agenda

Astroturf | Let love play the game changer

18 August 2019 | Bharat Bhushan Padmadeo | Agenda

Art for the soul

18 August 2019 | Shalini Saksena | Sunday Pioneer