Two Odia writers get Sahitya Akademi award

  • 0

Two Odia writers get Sahitya Akademi award

Saturday, 23 June 2018 | PNS | BHUBANESWAR

The Kendriya Sahitya Akademi on Friday announced the names of 21 winners of its Bal Sahitya Puraskar and 21 recipients of the Yuva Puraskar for this year. Two writers from Odisha have been included for the prestigious awards.

While Birendra Mohanty would receive the Sahitya Akademi Bal Sahitya Puraskar for his collection of poems “Rumku Jhuma”, Jayadratha Suna would be conferred with the Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar for his poetry book “Soso”.

The Bal Sahitya Puraskar awards would be conferred on the writers at a function in New Delhi on November 14, which is celebrated as the Children’s Day being the birth anniversary of India’s first Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru.

However, the date for conferring the Yuva Puraskar awards has not been declared yet.

The awards comprise a casket containing an engraved copper plaque and a cheque of Rs50,000.

Sunday Edition

The fight for sanity

16 May 2021 | Dr Chandni Tugnait | Agenda

The potency of sound

16 May 2021 | Hingori | Agenda

Krishna’s consorts

16 May 2021 | Dr. Asha Goswami | Agenda

Thank God, there’s God!

16 May 2021 | Ajit Kumar Bishnoi | Agenda

Astroturf | The tale of Ganapati

16 May 2021 | Bharat Bhushan Padmadeo | Agenda

Systemic flaws in Indian health sector exposed

16 May 2021 | Nikita Rawat | Agenda