UP BJP chief reconstitutes state executive

| | Lucknow
  • 0

UP BJP chief reconstitutes state executive

Sunday, 11 February 2018 | PNS | Lucknow

State BJP chief Mahendra Nath Pandey reconstituted the state executive committee with an eye on the 2019 lok Sabha poll retaining almost all senior leaders including Sunil Bansal and others. Close to two dozen new faces were however inducted in the committee. The surprise inclusion in the new committee announced on Friday night includes controversial leader Dayashanker Singh and former Union minister Sanjeev Baliyan as vice-presidents.  The 39 member executive committee has 15 vice-presidents, seven general secretaries and 16 secretaries besides a co- treasurer.

Dayashankar Singh was expelled from the BJP for his unsavoury remarks on BSP chief Mayawati ahead of the Assembly polls in 2016. Singh, then a state general secretary,  also accused Mayawati of selling election tickets. His expulsion was revoked after the 2017 Assembly poll with the BJP romping home and his wife Swati Singh being made a minister of state.

MP from Etah and son of Rajasthan Governor Kalyan Singh, Rajbir Singh has failed to find a berth following the controversy over his role in the recent communal strife at Kasganj.

later, the then state BJP president Keshav Maurya, had sacked New faces have replaced several members of the previous committee who have been included in the cabinet like Mahendra Singh and Mukut Bihari Verma. Sunil Bansal has retained the key post of general secretary (organisation) while Vijay Bahadur Pathak has also retained his position as general secretary.

In the new committee, Brahmins again are in good numbers with two being appointed vice-president, two general secretaries and secretaries. Besides, the state BJP chief is also a Brahmin.  Manish Kapoor of Varanasi - lok Sabha Constituency of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, has been made the new co-treasurer.

The state unit can still appoint one more vice-president and a general secretary. The new inclusion includes senior leader from lucknow and eminent trader Sudhir Halwasiya while leaders like Govind Narain Shukla, Bl Verma and Ranjana Upadhaya have been promoted. Meanwhile, the party also appointed Darshana Singh as president of state Mahila Morcha, Subhash Yadav as president of Yuva Morcha, Rajesh Verma (MP) as president of OBC Morcha and Kaushal Kishore (MP) as chairman of SC/ST Morcha. The state unit also appointed former legislator Suresh Tiwari as the new in-charge of Awadh region and Ashwani Tyagi as in-charge of western region.

Sunday Edition


20 September 2020 | TN RAGHUNATHA | Sunday Pioneer

21,907 more test +ve in Maha

20 September 2020 | TN RAGHUNATHA | Sunday Pioneer

PMO-led task force to tackle air pollution management in NCR

20 September 2020 | PNS | Sunday Pioneer

No shortage of oxygen for Covid patients: K'taka Min

20 September 2020 | PTI | Sunday Pioneer

Raj: 45-yr-old woman raped in Alwar; 5 held

20 September 2020 | PTI | Sunday Pioneer

Covid hits Telangana Health Minister's office, 7 test positive

20 September 2020 | IANS | Sunday Pioneer