Goa LoP leads 2/3rd Congress MLAs to shift loyalty to BJP

| | Panaji
  • 0

Goa LoP leads 2/3rd Congress MLAs to shift loyalty to BJP

Thursday, 11 July 2019 | PTI | Panaji

Winds of political instability in neighbouring Karnataka reached Goa on Wednesday, with two-thirds (10 out of 15) of Congress MLAs breaking away to merge with the ruling BJP in the coastal State.

The group, led by Leader of Opposition Chandrakant Kavlekar, met Assembly Speaker Rajesh Patnekar in the evening and gave him a letter, informing him about their breaking away from the party.

The MLAs include Atanasio Monserratte, Jeniffer Monserratte, Francis Silveira, Philip Nery Rodrigues, Cleaofacio Dias, Wilfred DSa, Nilkant Halarnkar and Isidor Fernandes.

Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant, who was present when the group arrived at the Assembly complex, said the 10 MLAs have merged with the BJP.

With the 10 MLAs changing sides, the strength of the Congress in the House would be reduced to five.

The BJP is the single largest party with 17, the Goa Forward Party and Independents have three each, while one MLA each is from the NCP and the MGP.

When asked, Kavlekar refused to give reason behind their move, but said that they will make a statement later. Sawant was sworn in as CM in March after the death of then CM Manohar Parrikar.

State Editions

DAV students excel in Class-XII exams again

14 July 2020 | PNS | Bhubaneswar

Swabs of 4 N’garh cops sent for test

14 July 2020 | PNS | Bhubaneswar

Rising Covid cases: 8 CCCs, CCS for Ganjam

14 July 2020 | KRUSHNA CHANDRA PANDA | Bhubaneswar


14 July 2020 | PNS | Bhubaneswar

Rupees 1.5-cr ganja from Odisha seized in UP

14 July 2020 | PNS | Bhubaneswar

Shutdown clamped in Jaleswar

14 July 2020 | PNS | Bhubaneswar

Sunday Edition

A case for cobots

12 July 2020 | Pradeep David | Agenda

Hope in the times of pandemic

12 July 2020 | Miniya Chatterji | Agenda

Covid tales: The joy of homecoming

12 July 2020 | Vandana Srivastava | Agenda

Astroturf | Unlock the mind to heal

12 July 2020 | Bharat Bhushan Padmadeo | Agenda

Online education: Dispel fear of surveillance

12 July 2020 | Madhav Govind | Agenda

Talktime : ‘I’m enjoying working on OTT platforms’

12 July 2020 | MUSBA HASHMI | Sunday Pioneer