TMC LS list out: 41% seats go to women, 5 cine stars in fray

| | Kolkata
  • 0

TMC LS list out: 41% seats go to women, 5 cine stars in fray

Wednesday, 13 March 2019 | Saugar Sengupta | Kolkata

TMC LS list out: 41% seats go to women, 5 cine stars in fray

West Bengal Chief Minister and TMC chief Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday released the list of party candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats in the State. The TMC has sent out a message to the women electorate earmarking 41 per cent seats for them.

Among other features of the TMC list are five faces from Bengal cine world.

Besides, the party has dropped five sitting MPs from its candidates’ list. Among the MPs dropped or who have opted out are Jadavpur MP Sugato Bose who is also the grand nephew of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose, South Kolkata MP and State TMC president Subrato Bakshi, Basirhat MP Idris Ali, Midnapore MP and veteran Bangla actor Sandhya Roy, and Uma Soren.

Among the new faces are veteran party leader and State Panchayat Minister Subroto Mukherjee ( Bankura),  actress Nusrat Jehan (Basirhat) and Bangla matinee idol Mimi Chakrabarty, who is likely to take on CPI(M)’s Sujan Chakrabarty from Jadavpur.

The TMC has five actors in its list. Bangla superstar Deb, Birbhum MP Shatabdi Roy and Bankura MP Moon Moon Sen will contest for second, third and second time in that order. Sen will be fielded from Asansol against BJP leader and Minister Babul Supriyo.

While releasing the party’s candidates’ list on Tuesday, Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee said her party had decided to field candidates in Assam, Jharkhand, Odisha and Bihar. When asked as to whether this could pose problem for anti-BJP parties, Banerjee said TMC being a national party reserved its right to contest from anywhere adding “if the Congress can contest from multiple States why can’t the TMC. We will contest in a manner that it will not harm other parties”.

TMC will contest from Jamshedpur, Rajmahal, Ranchi and Dhanbad in Jharkhand, Karimganj, Silchar, Dhubri, Kokrajhar, Barpeta and Guwahati in Assam, Bhadrak and Bhubaneshwar in Odisha and Kishanganj and Maharajganj in Bihar, she said.


State Editions

BSES discoms’ replacement scheme for ACs, fans

08 August 2020 | Staff Reporter | Delhi

Govt sends notices to 5,584 firms for not filing GST returns

08 August 2020 | Staff Reporter | Delhi

Pay salaries of Covid warriors, Cong workers tell Kejriwal

08 August 2020 | Staff Reporter | Delhi

FIR filed against six revenue officials among 12 people

08 August 2020 | Parvesh Sharma | Delhi

SDMC swings into action as vector-borne diseases surge

08 August 2020 | Staff Reporter | Delhi

CSE welcomes notification of EV Policy

08 August 2020 | Staff Reporter | Delhi

Sunday Edition

Bonded with love

02 August 2020 | Navneet Mendiratta | Agenda

A spiritual bond

02 August 2020 | Sant Rajinder Singh | Agenda

Astrological remedies for cure

02 August 2020 | Acharya Praveen Chauhan | Agenda

Do we know all the factors?

02 August 2020 | Ajit Kumar Bishnoi | Agenda

Astroturf | Awareness is Godliness

02 August 2020 | Bharat Bhushan Padmadeo | Agenda

A new chapter begins

02 August 2020 | Shalini Saksena | Sunday Pioneer