4 BJP leaders win with over 4.5 lakh votes

| | Ranchi
  • 0

4 BJP leaders win with over 4.5 lakh votes

Saturday, 25 May 2019 | Pranav Pratyush | Ranchi

More than the unprecedented victory of the National Democratic Alliance in Jharkhand the huge margin of victory of a number of candidates remained a talking point after the declaration of results. Four BJP candidates not only registered win in the polls but also defeated their rivals with over 4.5 lakh votes. PN Singh of Dhanbad and Jayant Sinha from Hazaribag defeated their rivals from Congress with more margin of votes than that of PM Narendra Modi in Varanasi.

Pashupati Nath Singh defeated Congress candidate Kirti Azad with a margin of 4,86,194 votes, while PM Narendra Modi defeated Samajwadi party candidate Shalini yadav with a margin of 4,79,505 votes. PN Singh got a total of 8,27,234 votes, which is 66.03 per cent of the total votes polled. On the other hand Kirti Azad got 3,40,141 votes, 27.22 per cent of the total votes. In 2014 elections Singh had won with a margin of 3,40,141 votes (27.22 per cent).

Union Minister and Hazaribag MP Jayant Sinha also set a record by winning with a margin of 4,79,548 votes, which is also more than the margin of Modi’s win in Varanasi.   Sinha got a total of 7,28,798 votes (67.42 per cent) defeating Congress’ Gopal Sahu, who got 2,49,250 votes (23.06 per cent). In 2014 elections Sinha’s winning margin of votes was 1,59,128.

Former DGP of State and incumbent Palamu MP Vishnu Dayal Ram also won the polls with a margin of 4,77,606 votes improving his previous margin of 2,63,942 in 2014. The former IPS officer received a total of 7,55,659 votes (62.46 per cent), while his nearest rival RJD’s Ghuran Ram got 2,78,053 votes (22.98 per cent).

Newly inducted member of the BJP, who joined the saffron fold just ahead of elections from RJD, Annapurna Devi entered the 4.5 lakh club by defeating her nearest rival former CM and JVM (P) chief Babulal Marandi with a margin of 4,55,600 votes. She got a total of 7,53,016 votes (62.26 per cent), while Marandi received 2,97,416 votes (24.59 per cent). In 2014 elections BJP’s Ravindra Kumar Rai had defeated his nearest rival with a margin of 98,654 votes.

The BJP received a total of 50.96 per cent votes in the 2019 general elections in Jharkhand, while its ally AJSU Party that contested on just one seat and won it, got a total of 4.33 per cent votes. In 2014 elections the winning margin of votes was relatively less than that of 2019 and the highest margin of votes was secured by Dhanbad MP PN Singh who had won the polls with over 2.9 lakh votes.

State Editions

Shivpal struggling to remain politically relevant

18 September 2019 | PNS | Lucknow

Wishes pour in on Modi’s 69th b’day

18 September 2019 | PNS | Lucknow

Jaya Prada slams Akhilesh, MSY for backing Azam

18 September 2019 | PNS | Lucknow

Wife of Etawah SP consumes poisonous substance ‘by mistake’

18 September 2019 | Pioneer News Service | Lucknow

Tarun Patel faces the axe for remarks against ‘Lalu’

18 September 2019 | Pioneer News Service | Lucknow

Sunday Edition

The bare necessities Simple ideas that matter

15 September 2019 | Tim de Ridder | Agenda

Heal self For a better world

15 September 2019 | Sant Rajinder Singh | Agenda

Correct your self-image

15 September 2019 | Ajit Kumar Bishnoi | Agenda

Astroturf | Watch over your karma

15 September 2019 | Bharat Bhushan Padmadeo | Agenda

Talktime | ‘I felt like an actor after doing LSD’

15 September 2019 | MUSBA HASHMI | Sunday Pioneer

Pickle me pink

15 September 2019 | Shalini Saksena | Sunday Pioneer