Fissure in Grand Alliance deepens over Palamu seat

| | Ranchi
  • 0

Fissure in Grand Alliance deepens over Palamu seat

Monday, 11 February 2019 | Roshan Kumar | Ranchi

After the Godda glitch, the Mahagathbandhan (grand alliance) is fresh on trouble over Palamu seat, as the RJD has staked claim for seat being their traditional bastion.

RJD, State spokesperson, Manoj Kumar said, “We have demanded three seats from Congress, JMM—Chatra, Palamu and Koderma. Babulal Marandi is senior leader and in the larger interest of grand alliance we can sacrifice Koderma seat for Marandi as JVM(P) candidate, but there will be no compromise on Chatra and Palamu seat.”

As per the Mahagathbandhan seat sharing formula, which was discussed in Delhi between Congress president Rahul Gandhi and JMM vice president Hemant Soren last week, Congress is to get seven seats, JMM four seats, JVM two and one seat in RJD’s kitty. The Palamu seat has been given to Marandi’s JVM(P).

RJD is to get Chatra seat with the party deciding to field Bihar sand mafia Subhash Yadav from the seat. Sources said that for Chatra seat, Yadav has even received the blessing of RJD Supremo Lalu Prasad.

Manoj claimed that, Palamu and Chatra has remained traditional seat of RJDs and leaving few occasions, RJD has always represented the Palamu seat. Palamu seat which is reserved for Scheduled Castes (SC) borders Bihar, during unified Bihar the region used to have large number of RJD MLAs from the region.

RJD first tested victory from the seat was during Mandal wave in early nineties. In 1989 Jorawar Ram became the MP on Janta Dal ticket from Palamu. However, from 1991 to 2004, BJP Braj Mohan Ram represented the seat.  In 2004, RJD Manoj Kumar became the MP and in 2006 by-election, RJD Ghuran Ram retained the seat for Lalu’s party.

Sources said once RJD used to send maximum number of MLAs from Palamu region. Garhwa, Hussainabad and Chatarpur have remained RJD stronghold. Girinath Singh, former RJD state president had represented Garhwa Assembly for five terms, however, for last two terms Satyendra Nath Tiwari has been representing the seat. Similarly, from Hussainabad, RJD’s Sanjay Singh Yadav has represented the seat for more than two terms. The seat though is reserved for SC, it has sizeable population of Yadavs and extremely backward castes (EBC) who are traditionally RJD voters.

Sources said that the Mahagathbandhan is already facing trouble over Godda after both Congress and Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) are on loggerheads over the seat, Palamu issue can spoil the shape of Mahagathbandhan in Jharkhand. From Godda, JVM(P) senior leader and party MLA from Poreyahat, Pradeep Yadav and former Congress MP from Godda, Furkan Ansari has pitched their claims for the seat.

Meanwhile, the BJP is happy with the emerging differences among grand alliance constituents. State Urban Development minister, CP Singh said, “The BJP is least bothered about alliance of Mahagathbandhan. In coming days, more differences will emerge among four parties.”

Sunday Edition

Links Hanuman to Dalits

14 April 2019 | PTI | Sunday Pioneer

Prashant Kishor rubbishes Rabri's merger bid claim

14 April 2019 | PTI | Sunday Pioneer

513 ceasefire violations by Pak post Balakot strike: Army

14 April 2019 | PTI | Sunday Pioneer

Sadiq Batcha’s wife wants his death re-probed

14 April 2019 | Kumar Chellappan | Sunday Pioneer

TN: EC seizes over `552 crore unaccounted cash, jewellery

14 April 2019 | PTI | Sunday Pioneer