Odisha to host Commonwealth TT championship from July 17

  • 0

Odisha to host Commonwealth TT championship from July 17

Friday, 11 January 2019 | PNS | CUTTACK

The Table Tennis Federation of India (TTFI) has announced that Odisha will host the Commonwealth Table Tennis Championships in July. The championships will be held from July 17 to 22.

The announcement came after the conclusion of the 80th National Senior Table Tennis Championships in Cuttack on Wednesday in which Sharath Kamal and Archana Kamath won single titles in men and women category, respectively.

The TTFI praised the efforts of the Odisha State Table Tennis Association (OSTTA) in organising the tournament and expressed satisfaction over the infrastructure for the sport.

State MSME Secretary LN Gupta, who is the president of OSTTA, said the championships, which was allotted to India; had earlier been decided to be held in Lucknow. But after the successful conduct of the 80th Senior National Table Tennis Championships at the JN Indoor Stadium, Cuttack, the TTFI decided to grant the hosting right to Odisha.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik said, “Odisha is delighted to host the next Commonwealth TT Championships.”