Senior leaders of BSP, SP join BJP

| | Lucknow
  • 0

Senior leaders of BSP, SP join BJP

Monday, 15 April 2019 | PNS | Lucknow

The Bharatiya Janata Party’s Uttar Pradesh unit got a shot in its arm when senior leaders of Bahujan Samaj Party and Samajwadi Party, including former lawmakers, joined the ruling party reposing faith in the policies of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Three-time BSP MLA from Kathehri (Ambedkar Nagar) Dharamraj Nishads and former lawmaker and SP leader from Auraiya, Ravindra Singh Chauhan, joined the BJP. Chauhan’s father Bharat Singh was a four-time Congress MLA from that constituency.

These leaders joined the BJP in front of part state president Mahendra Nath Pandey.

“These are leaders who have roots in villages. They are very popular and have worked for the welfare of the people. Their joining the BJP has strengthened the party at the grassroots level,” Pandey said in the function held at party headquarters here on Sunday.

He said these leaders had faith in the policies of the Prime Minister and were impressed by the way UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath had introduced pro-people policies. 

“These leaders are of firm belief that if India wants to grow strong we need to give Narendra Modi another chance, Pandey said.

Former BSP MLA and party candidate from Etawah parliamentary constituency Shiv Pratap Yadav also joined the BJP along with his supporters.

Sunday Edition

Don’t regulate us for the sake of it: Pichai

16 June 2019 | PTI | Sunday Pioneer

India tops tech visa applications for UK: Report

16 June 2019 | PTI | Sunday Pioneer

India’s flat May fuel demand points to sluggish economy

16 June 2019 | Agencies | Sunday Pioneer

Tanker attack jolts oil-import dependent Asia

16 June 2019 | AP | Sunday Pioneer