BJP sets new record for highest victory margin in five seats in Delhi

| | New Delhi
  • 0

BJP sets new record for highest victory margin in five seats in Delhi

Friday, 24 May 2019 | PTI | New Delhi

BJP sets new record for highest victory margin in five seats in Delhi

The BJP which swept all the seven seats in Delhi, set new records in five constituencies where its candidates defeated their opponents with the highest margins ever.

Parvesh Verma, the sitting MP from the West Delhi constituency, won a second term with a record-breaking margin of 5.78 lakh votes. The runner-up, Congress's Mahabal Mishra, got 2,87,162 votes.

Verma broke his own record for the highest victory margin in Delhi.

In 2014, he had trounced his closest rival, Jarnail Singh of the AAP, by a margin of 2,68,586 votes. This time, he got 8,65,648 of the total 14,41,601 votes polled in the seat.

The BJP candidate from the Northwest Delhi (reserved) seat, Hans Raj Hans, clobbered his closest rival, Gugan Singh of the AAP, with an emphatic margin of 5,53,075 votes, a record in the constituency.

The singer-turned-politician got 8,48,663 of the total 14,02,962 votes, while Singh could garner only 2,94,766.

In 2014, Udit Raj had won the seat on a BJP ticket by a margin of 1,06,802 votes.

Cricketer-turned-politician and BJP candidate from East Delhi, Gautam Gambhir, overwhelmed Arvinder Singh Lovely of the Congress by a record margin of 3,91,222 votes.

Gambhir polled 6,96,156 votes against 3,04,934 garnered by Lovely.

Five years ago, BJP's Maheish Girri had bagged the seat with a margin of 1,90,463 votes.

The saffron party's Gujjar face from South Delhi, Ramesh Bidhuri, hammered first-timer Raghav Chadha of the AAP by 3,67,043 votes, a record in the seat.

In 2014, he had won the seat by 1,07,000 votes.

The BJP's Delhi unit chief Manoj Tiwari clinched the Northeast Delhi seat, defeating three-time chief minister Sheila Dikshit by a record margin of 3,66,102 votes.

Only Union minister Harsh Vardhan and BJP leader Meenakashi Lekhi won their respective seats by a margin lesser than the 2014 record.

Lekhi, the sitting MP from the New Delhi seat, secured a second term, defeating veteran Congress leader Ajay Maken by 2,56,504 votes.

Harsh Vardhan, the party's Chandi Chowk candidate, had the lowest winning margin in the city at just 2, 28,145 lakh votes.

Three candidates of the ruling Aam Aadmi Party, Pankaj Kumar Gupta from Chandni Chowk, Brijesh Goyal from New Delhi and Dilip Pandey from Northeast Delhi, lost their deposits as they secured less than one-sixth of the total votes polled in their respective constituency.

Goyal polled 1,50,342 of the total 9,20,541 votes, Pandey garnered 1,90,856 of the total 1,46,1475 votes, while Gupta got 1,43,717 of the cumulative 9,74,103 votes.

Boxer-turned-politician and Congress candidate Vijender forfeited his deposit in the South Delhi seat, bagging just 1,64,613 (13.56 per cent) votes.


Sunday Edition

The bare necessities Simple ideas that matter

15 September 2019 | Tim de Ridder | Agenda

Heal self For a better world

15 September 2019 | Sant Rajinder Singh | Agenda

Correct your self-image

15 September 2019 | Ajit Kumar Bishnoi | Agenda

Astroturf | Watch over your karma

15 September 2019 | Bharat Bhushan Padmadeo | Agenda

Talktime | ‘I felt like an actor after doing LSD’

15 September 2019 | MUSBA HASHMI | Sunday Pioneer

Pickle me pink

15 September 2019 | Shalini Saksena | Sunday Pioneer