Kejriwal retains supremacy

  • 0

Kejriwal retains supremacy

Wednesday, 12 February 2020 | Pramod Kumar Singh | NEW DELHI

Kejriwal retains supremacy

Delhi votes for development, freebies

Arvind Kejriwal- led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) re-affirmed its supremacy over the BJP in the high octane Delhi Assembly elections by winning 62 seat out of 70. The AAP managed to retain its vote — 53.57 per cent this time against 54.3 per cent in 2015 — and beat the anti-incumbency  and the poll campaign blitzkrieg of Home Minister Amit Shah-led BJP.

The national Capital witnessed an intense poll campaign led by the BJP’s humongous poll machinery backed by organisational set-up, against Kejriwal who changed his tactics and did not indulge into the slanging match with the saffron party despite being provoked on several occasions.

However, the BJP could add another five seats to its tally of 3 in 2015 and increase its vote share by over 6 per cent to 38.49 per cent, but that was too little to stop the AAP juggernaut. The Congress which had ruled Delhi for 15 uninterrupted years till AAP came to the scene was vanquished as its 63 out of 66 candidates lost their deposits in the AAP tsunami. The Congress’ ally RJD too lost its deposit on four seats.

Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal from New Delhi, his deputy Manish Sisodia from Patparganj, Raghav Chadha from Rajender Nagar were notable winners. The BJP won five seats, while the Congress scored unenviable “zero”.

The high voltage elections also saw Kapil Mishra, a former Minister in the Kejriwal Government who had rebelled against AAP, losing to AAP’s sitting MLA Akhilesh Pati Triptahi from  Model Town Assembly seat.

Sisodia, the architect of  AAP’s educational revolution in Delhi, won a tough battle against rookie Ravinder Singh Negi of the BJP by over 3,000 votes from Patparganj seat. He had many anxious moments before emerging victorious in the 15th round. AAP’s Okhla candidate Amanatullah Khan, who was in the eye of storm for his alleged association with the Shaheen Bagh protesters, defeated BJP’s Braham Singh by 71,827 votes.

Shaheen Bagh, which falls under the Okhla Assembly constituency, turned out to be the epicentre of anti-CAA protest with women and children holding sit-in protest for about 50 days. Continuous media attention has kept the pot boiling which the BJP capitalised on during poll campaign.

Seelampur, which also witnessed violence during an anti-CAA protest, saw AAP’s Abdul Rehman emerging victorious against Kaushal Kumar Mishra of the BJP. Rehman defeated his rival by a margin of 25,000 votes.

Raghav Chadha, who was fielded from the Rajinder Nagar constituency in place of the sitting AAP MLA, defeated his BJP rival Sardar RP Singh by 20,058 votes.

Atishi, who was fielded from Kalkaji, won by 11,393 votes defeating BJP candidate Dharambir Singh.

Social Welfare minister Rajendra Pal Gautam who was fielded from Seemapuri won by defeating BJP ally Lok Jan Shakti Party’s Sant Lal. AAP’s SK Bagga won from Krishna Nagar constituency where he was pitted against BJP’s Anil Goyal. The Tri Nagar and Shalimar Bagh seats also went to the AAP.

AAP’s Preeti Tomar won the Tri Nagar seat by 12,000 votes, while Bandana Kumari emerged victorious on the Shalimar Bagh seat by a margin of 800 votes. AAP’s Kuldeep Kumar defeated Raj Kumar of the BJP from the Kondli seat.

Mukesh Kumar Ahlawat of the AAP defeated the BJP’s Ram Chander Chawriya from Sultanpur Majra, a reserved seat.

Mohinder Goyal of the AAP won the Rithala seat after defeating BJP’s Manish Chaudhary, while Jangpura seat was won by AAP’s Praveen Kumar, who defeated BJP’s Impreet Singh Bakshi.

AAP’s Prakash Jarwal won the Deoli seat, defeating Arvind Kumar of the BJP, while the party’s candidate Naresh Balyan retained the Uttam Nagar seat after defeating BJP’s Krishan Gahlot.

In Shakur Basti, AAP’s senior leader Satyendar Jain won after defeating Dr SC Vats after trailing him in the initial trends.

Rajesh Gupta of the AAP emerged victorious from the Wazirpur seat while BJP’s Dr Mahender Nagpal stood second.

Surendra Kumar of the AAP defeated Ranjeet Singh of the BJP to win the Gokalpur seat.

AAP’s Raghuvinder Shokeen won the Nangloi Jat seat against BJP’s Suman Lata while AAP’s Ajay Dutt won the Ambedkar Nagar seat after defeating BJP’s Khushiram Chunar. BJP’s Ajay Mahawar won the Ghonda seat by a margin of 27,000 votes, defeating AAP’s Shridutt Sharma.

BJP’s Abhay Verma managed to wrest Laxmi Nagar seat from AAP’ sitting MLA Nitin Tyagi by 800 votes while OP Sharma won from Vishwas Nagar seat by 16,457 votes. Anil Kumar Vajpayee, who had won on AAP ticket from Gandhi Nagar seat by 6047 votes defeating Naveen Chaudhary of AAP. Mohan Singh Bight of BJP defeated AAP’s Durgesh Pathak by 8223 votes. Jitender Mahajn won from Rohtas Nagar seat by defeating AAP’s Sarita Singh by 13241 votes. Leader of Opposition Vijender Gupta won from Rohini seat by defeating Rajesh Nama Bansiwala by 12648 votes. BJP’s Ajay Mahawar won the Gonda seat by a margin of 27,000 votes, defeating AAP’s Shridutt Sharma.

The elections to the Delhi Legislative Assembly were held on February 8. With results being declared on Tuesday, the Lieutenant Governor Anil Baijal dissolved the assembly and new assembly will be constituted once the Election Commssion notified the election results. “The new government will be sworn in on February 16 ”, said Gopal Rai, a minister in the outgoing Delhi government and also the convenor of AAP Delhi. It would be pertinent to mention here that Kejriwal had taken oath as Chief Minister of Delhi on February 14, 2015 at Ramlila Maidan after his party had won a landslide victory against BJP.

Sunday Edition

India, China’s quest for influence in S Asia

05 July 2020 | Amit Kumar | Smita Tiwary | Agenda

A mission towards Atmanirbhar Bharat

05 July 2020 | Renu Swarup | Agenda

On shaky ground

05 July 2020 | Shalini Saksena | Sunday Pioneer

Talktime : ‘Doing scary things challenges me’

05 July 2020 | Shalini Saksena | Sunday Pioneer


05 July 2020 | MUSBA HASHMI | Sunday Pioneer

‘May direct more animation projects’

05 July 2020 | Shalini Saksena | Sunday Pioneer