EC announces bypolls to  seven UP Assembly seats

| | Lucknow
  • 0

EC announces bypolls to  seven UP Assembly seats

Wednesday, 30 September 2020 | PNS | Lucknow

The Election Commission of India finally set the ball rolling for bypolls to seven Assembly seats of Uttar Pradesh and issued a notification on Tuesday afternoon. 

Chief Election Officer (UP) Ajay Shukla said that nominations would commence from October 9 and end on October 16. While scrutiny would be done on October 17, candidates could withdraw nominations till October 19, he added. 

Polling would be held on November 3 and the counting of votes would be taken up on November 10 along with the counting of Bihar Assembly votes. 

The polls will be held in compliance with Covid protocol, guidelines for which were also issued by the Election Commission along with the notification. 

There are eight Assembly seats presently lying vacant in the state but the Election Commission  is not holding bypoll for Swar seat in Rampur as a case is pending in a court. 

The Swar seat fell vacant after disqualification of Samajwadi Party legislator Abdullah Azam, the son of SP stalwart Mohammad Azam Khan, for providing wrong date of birth while filing nominations. 

The Assembly seats going for bypolls are Tundla (Firozabad) which fell vacant after the resignation of Bharatiya Janata Party’s SP Baghel who was elected to Lok Sabha; Bangarmau (Unnao) which fell vacant after BJP’s Kuldeep Singh Sengar was sentenced for life in a rape case. 

Besides, Malhani (Jaunpur) fell vacant due to the demise of SP legislator Parasnath Yadav, Deoria Sadar due to death of BJP’s Janmejaya Singh and Bulandshahr due to BJP MLA Virender Sirohi’s death. The Ghatampur (Kanpur) seat fell vacant after BJP’s Kamal Rani Varun died of COVID-19.  The Naugawan Sadat (Amroha) seat fell vacant after cricketer-turned BJP legislator Chetan Chauhan died of COVID-19.

In all seats, a four-cornered contest is expected as the BJP, SP  BSP and Congress have announced to contest the bypolls. Of the seven seats, six were bagged by the BJP and one was represented by Samajwadi Party. 

Though the bypoll results would not affect the majority in Assembly, there will be a huge political message for the 2022 UP Assembly elections.

State Editions

Covid-19 cases on  decline in State

25 October 2020 | PNS | Ranchi


25 October 2020 | PNS | Ranchi

Lalu likely to sacrifice goats to please Goddess Durga

25 October 2020 | VIJAY DEO JHA | Ranchi

Congress intensifies poll campaign in Bermo

25 October 2020 | PNS | Ranchi

JD(U) joins hands with  BJP for by-election

25 October 2020 | PNS | Ranchi

Sunday Edition

Dussehra of Kulasekaranpatinam, Tuticorin

25 October 2020 | Experts | Agenda

The Return of Delhi Smog

25 October 2020 | Sonal Shukla | Agenda

Astroturf: Season of empowerment

25 October 2020 | Bharat Bhushan Padmadeo | Agenda

Dauntless picks

25 October 2020 | MUSBA HASHMI | Sunday Pioneer

Talktime | ‘It’s a matter of perception on how to value artwork’

25 October 2020 | Shalini Saksena | Sunday Pioneer

‘I shifted to NY to explore international music’

25 October 2020 | Shalini Saksena | Sunday Pioneer