House mourns for ex-Mins, ex-MLAs

  • 0

House mourns for ex-Mins, ex-MLAs

Saturday, 15 February 2020 | PNS | BHUBANESWAR

The State Assembly mourned deaths of two former Ministers and six former members on the first day of the Budget Session on Friday.

Bringing Obituary References, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik expressed profound grief over demises of former Ministers Bhagabat Prasad Mohanty and Jagannath Rout and former members Satchidananda Deo, Bhagirathi Das, Radha Govinda Sahu, Daitari Behera, Naka Lachhmaya and Gourahari Nayak.

Leader of Opposition Pradipta Kumar Naik, Congress Legislature Party Leader Narasingha Mishra and CPI(M) member Laxman Munda too joined Patnaik in mourning deaths of the former Ministers and members.

Expressing grief, Speaker Surjya Narayan Patro said the House’ condolence would be sent to the bereaved families. Members observed one minute silence for the departed souls.     

Sunday Edition

Sleep in the times Of Corona

05 April 2020 | Kerry Bajaj | Agenda

Article 370: A fresh perspective

05 April 2020 | Prof K Warikoo | Agenda

Stories that inspire action and change

05 April 2020 | Excerpt | Agenda

Astroturf : Be ready to combat evil forces

05 April 2020 | Bharat Bhushan Padmadeo | Agenda

Corona-led leadership challenges for Trump

05 April 2020 | Manan Dwivedi | Agenda

Why poor migrants need to fend for themselves

05 April 2020 | Rahul Jayaram | Agenda