Battle of 2022: Cong banking on defeated generals?

| | Dehradun
  • 0

Battle of 2022: Cong banking on defeated generals?

Saturday, 24 July 2021 | PNS | Dehradun

By appointing stalwart and former Chief Minister Harish Rawat as head of its election campaign committee, making Ganesh Godiyal as the new Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) president and nominating four working presidents, the Congress high command has put the Uttarakhand Congress into an election mode. 

Interestingly enough all these leaders entrusted with ensuring victory for the party in the year 2022 had themselves lost elections in the assembly elections of 2017 from the constituencies they had contested. While former CM Harish Rawat lost from both the seats- Haridwar rural and Kichcha to Swami Yetishwaranand and Rajesh Shukla respectively - the new PCC president Ganesh Godiyal was defeated by BJPs Dhan Singh Rawat in Srinagar assembly constituency.

Working President Jeet Ram was defeated by  Late Magan Lal Shah in Tharali assembly seat while Bhuwan Kapdi was defeated by Pushkar Singh Dhami in Khatima assembly constituency. Similarly Ranjit Rawat faced defeat in Ramnagar assembly constituency at the hands of Diwan Singh Bisht of BJP. Another working president Tilak Raj Behed was defeated by Raj Kumar Thukral in Rudrapur assembly segment in the year 2017.

It is worth mentioning here that the assembly elections are scheduled in the state in early 2022 and after suffering back to back reversals in the parliamentary elections of 2014, assembly elections of 2017 and parliamentary elections of 2019 the Congress is desperately trying for a victory in elections of 2022 in the state.

Sunday Edition

Mu-tation worry

19 September 2021 | SUPRIYA RAMESH | Sunday Pioneer

Talktime | ‘TO be An actor One has to be brave’

19 September 2021 | Shalini Saksena | Sunday Pioneer

A noe bolt idea

19 September 2021 | Shalini Saksena | Sunday Pioneer

Bollt World

19 September 2021 | IANS | Sunday Pioneer


19 September 2021 | Pioneer | Sunday Pioneer


19 September 2021 | Pioneer | Sunday Pioneer