Raja Iqbal Singh of SAD to be Mayor of NMC

  • 0

Raja Iqbal Singh of SAD to be Mayor of NMC

Wednesday, 09 June 2021 | Staff Reporter | NEW DELHI

The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) councillor from GTB Nagar, Raja Iqbal Singh, is likely to be Mayor of North Delhi. According to senior BJP leaders in the party, Singh is being rewarded for his closeness with BJP. “When all other SAD members left the party, Singh was the one who was standing with the party,” a senior BJP leader said.

Importantly, last year, the SAD had pulled out of the National Democratic Alliance protesting against the new farm laws. “The party (SAD) had decided to leave all posts it had jointly held with the BJP, including municipal corporations,” a senior BJP leader said. “It was only Singh, who did not leave the seat out of all five SAD, this time top BJP leadership want to reward him, thus he is likely to become Mayor of North Delhi,” he added further.

Moreover, in corporation elections, anti-defection law wouldn’t work. Singh was also served a notice by the SAD when he had not resigned from the post of chairperson.

Meanwhile, according to Delhi BJP leaders, Singh, Mukesh Suryan and Sunder Agarwal have been nominated for the posts of north, south and east Delhi municipal corporations. “The elections to various posts of the three corporations will be held on June 16 and the last date of filing nomination is June 8th,” a BJP leader said.

Archana Dilip Singh, deputy mayor, Jogiram Jain, chairman, standing committee, Vijay Kumar Bhagat, vice chairman, standing committee and Chhail Bihari Giswami, Leader of House, NDMC have been nominated.

Pawan Sharma, deputy mayor; Col (retd) B K Oberoi, chairman, standing committee; Punam Bhati, vice chairman, standing committee; and Indrajeet Sehrawat, Leader of House, SDMC, also found their names in the list.

Kiran Viadh, deputy mayor; Veer Singh Pawar, chairman, standing committee; Dipak Malhotra, vice chairman, standing committee; and Satyapal Singh, Leader of House, EDMC, were also included in the list.

While it is clear that BJP has majority, all the BJP candidates in three corporations are set to be elected. In South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC) and North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC), the party has 108 members each and 64 member sin East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC). The mayoral polls last year had delayed due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Importantly, this election will be the last elections to the three civic as the corporations are completing the five -year term in 2022.

Sunday Edition

Time to tame the rabble rousers

25 September 2022 | Navin Upadhyay | Agenda

Decode ‘those’ genes

25 September 2022 | HEALTH PIONEER | Agenda

COVID-19 Pandemic: The Battles India Won

25 September 2022 | Prof (Dr) Balram Bhargava | Agenda


25 September 2022 | HEALTH PIONEER | Agenda

Tobacco ads: Celebrities shirk moral responsibility

25 September 2022 | Nibedita Priyadarshini Jena | Agenda

Address fault lines, Raja yoga will bear fruit

25 September 2022 | Bharat Bhushan Padmadeo | Agenda