BJP to be major gainer in RS poll for 11 seats from UP

| | Lucknow
  • 0

BJP to be major gainer in RS poll for 11 seats from UP

Saturday, 14 May 2022 | PNS | Lucknow

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party will be the major beneficiary and increase its tally in Rajya Sabha from Uttar Pradesh. The three opposition parties in UP-- Samajwadi Party, Bahujan Samaj Party and Congress – will be the major losers in the upcoming election to 11 seats of the upper House of Parliament from UP.

Uttar Pradesh sends 31 members to Rajya Sabha and they are elected by members of UP assembly.

Among the 11 retiring MPs from the state, five are from the BJP, three from the SP, two from the BSP and one from the Congress. The BSP with a single MLA and Congress with two MLAs are not in the race in this Rajya Sabha election.

With 403 elected members in the UP assembly, a candidate will require at least 37 votes for victory. The outcome of the recently held state assembly election has changed the equation this time. With 273 MLAs, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance will be able to get seven members elected easily, while SP and its allies (Rashtriya Lok Dal and Suheldev Bhartiya Samaj Party), with the strength of 125 legislators will be able to ensure victory of three candidates. For the 11th seat, both SP and BJP will be trying to win the support of other parties, including Raja Bhaiya's Jansatta Dal Loktantrik and the Congress which have two MLAs each and the lone legislator of Mayawati's BSP.

Kapil Sibal from Congress, BSP general secretary Satish Chandra Mishra, and Reoti Raman Singh of Samajwadi Party are among the members whose terms are ending. After the retirement of Sibal, the Congress' representation in the upper House from Uttar Pradesh will be nil. After the retirement of the two BSP MPs Satish Chandra Mishra and Ashok Siddharth, the party will have only one member, Ramji Gautam in the upper House of Parliament.

The five retiring BJP Rajya Sabha members include Zafar Islam, Shiv Pratap Shukla, Sanjay Seth, Surendra Nagar, and Jai Prakash Nishad.

The SP members completing their term include former UP Legislative Council Chairman Sukhram Singh Yadav, whose son Mohit has joined the BJP. Besides Yadav, the tenure of Reoti Raman Singh and Vishambhar Prasad Nishad will also end in July.

The Election Commission of India on Thursday announced that voting will be held on June 10 to fill 57 Rajya Sabha seats from 15 states, including 11 from Uttar Pradesh. These seats will be falling vacant due to the retirement of members between June and August. The election commission has announced May 24 as the date of notification for Rajya Sabha polls. The voting is to be held on June 10 and the results will be announced the same day.