No challenge to Yogi in Gorakhpur Sadar

| | Lucknow
  • 0

No challenge to Yogi in Gorakhpur Sadar

Sunday, 23 January 2022 | PNS | Lucknow

The Gorakhpur Sadar assembly constituency has become a ‘hot seat’ for the country in the 2022 Uttar Pradesh assembly elections. This seat has been a center of attraction ever since Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath was declared as the Bharatiya Janata Party candidate from there. The dominance of Yogi Adityanath on the Gorakhpur Sadar seat looks unchallenged even as the polling in this constituency is still a few weeks away.

Gorakhpur is the hometown of Yogi Adityanath. Besides having won the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat five times, Yogi is also the head priest (Peethadheeshwar) of the Gorakhnath temple in Gorakhpur. This seat has been influenced by the temple itself for many decades. The votes in favour of Yogi Adityanath during the previous Lok Sabha elections show that he remains invincible in the upcoming elections.

In the past 17 elections, the Jana Sangh, the Hindu Mahasabha and the BJP have been victorious 10 times from the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat, formerly known as Gorakhpur Sadar. The Jana Sangh won this seat once under the banner of Janata Party. The Congress has had six wins under their former leader, late Indira Gandhi. For the past three decades, the Indian National Congress has been struggling to match the invincible dominance of the ‘Yogi’ however, to no avail. The Samajwadi Party-Bahujan Samaj Party wagon is still far from sight.

Yogi Adityanath won the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat for five consecutive terms in 1998, 1999, 2004, 2009 and 2014. He had been leading by a margin nearly three times of his nearest rival in Gorakhpur Sadar, one of the assembly segments of Gorakhpur Lok Sabha constituency, in terms of votes. This is the reason that not only the BJP but also the general public is considering the fight on this seat as completely a one-sided affair.

In the assembly elections of 1967, 1974, and 1977, the Jana Sangh dominated the Gorakhpur Sadar seat. In the 1977 elections, Jana Sangh was in the fray by becoming a part of the Janata Party. After this, except for the elections of 1980 and 1985, from 1989 till now this constituency has remained in the favour of the BJP.

Having a look at the votes secured by Yogi Adityanath as MP in Gorakhpur, there was no competition between him and the candidates of other parties who fought against him. Yogi has been an MP five times. Every time he contested, he got bumper votes from the area.

Going by the figures of his last two elections, in the 2009 parliamentary elections, he got 77,438 votes out of a total of 1,22,983 votes polled from Gorakhpur Shahr assembly constituency while Vinay Shankar Tiwari of BSP, the runner-up, got only 25,352 votes. The SP polled only 11,521 votes.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the graph of votes that Yogi got increased further. He got 1,33,892 votes out of the total 2,06,155 votes polled. The runner-up, Rajmati Nishad of SP, received 31,055 votes and Rambhual Nishad of BSP got only 20,479 votes.


State Editions

SP may send Jayant to RS

26 May 2022 | PNS | Lucknow

4 of a family killed in road accident

26 May 2022 | PNS | Lucknow

UP Budget today

26 May 2022 | PNS | Lucknow

Missing minor girl’s body found in field

26 May 2022 | PNS | Lucknow

Sibal files papers for RS seat from UP

26 May 2022 | PNS | Lucknow

Sunday Edition

GyanVapi to set the new course of Indian politics

22 May 2022 | Shivji Sarkar | Agenda

A nursery of military leadership

22 May 2022 | Pioneer | Agenda

Short stories with big messages

22 May 2022 | Navin Upadhyay | Agenda

Never a bystander: Indian Railways in Transition

22 May 2022 | Deepak Jha | Agenda

Regional parties, Hindi & Hindutva

22 May 2022 | Rahul Jayaram | Agenda

Astroturf | Shape your destiny through conscious efforts

22 May 2022 | Bharat Bhushan Padmadeo | Agenda