Sidda, Speaker, 16 K’taka Mins bite the dust

| | Bengaluru

Even though the Karnataka Assembly polls did not give any decisive mandate to any party, Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, speaker KB Koliwada and 14 Ministers have bitten the dust. Chief Minister Siddaramaiah who contested in two constituencies has faced humiliating defeat at Chamundeshwari in his home turf but won at Badami in North Karnataka by a thin margin against B Sriramulu of the BJP.

In Chamundeshwari, JD(S) leader GT  Devegowda, defeated Siddaramaiah by a margin of 36,042 votes. While Siddaramaiah got 85,283 votes, Devegowda secured 1,21,325 votes. In Badami, Siddaramaiah managed to win by a just a margin of 1,696 votes. Siddaramaiah got 67,599 votes against 65,903 votes polled in favour of  BJPs B Sreeramulu.

In Dharwad  Minister for Mines and Geology Vinay Kulkarni lost to BJP’s Amrut Ayyappa Desi. According to the Election Commission data, while Desai got 85,123 votes, Kulkarni managed to secure 64,783 votes. JD(S) candidate Tirakappa Sadeppa Jamanal got just 1,263 votes. In 2013 polls, Kulkarni had won from here by a margin of 18,320 votes. In Holalkere constituency, BJP’s M Chandrappa defeated incumbent Congress candidate H Anjaneya by 34,940 votes, according to the EC data. Anjaneya is the Minister for Social Welfare in the Siddaramaiah Government. While Chandrappa got 1,07,976 votes, the minister bagged 69,036 votes. In 2013 polls, Anjaneya had won from here by a margin of 12,864 votes.

In T Narasipur constituency, incumbent Congress candidate Dr HC Mahadevappa lost to Janata Dal (Secular) candidate Ashvin Kumar by a margin of 28,478 votes. Mahadevappa is the Minister for Public Works Department in the outgoing Congress government. In the May 12 polling, he got 55,451 votes whereas the JD(S) candidate secured 83,929 votes. In 2013 assembly polls, Mahadevappa had won from here by just a margin of 323 votes. In Terdal constituency, Congress candidate Umashree lost to BJP’s Siddu Savadi by a margin of 20,889 votes. Umashree is Minister for Woman and Child development in the Siddaramaiah government. According to the EC, Umashree got 66,324 votes against her BJP rival candidate Savadi bagged 87,213 votes to secure the first spot. In 2013 polls, Umashree had won from here by a margin of 2,599 votes.

In Gundlupet, Sugar Minister MC Mohan Kumari alias Geetha suffered defeat by BJP’s CS Niranjan Kumar by a margin of 16,684 votes. While Niranjan got 94,151 votes, a total of 77,467 electorates showed faith in her. The seat was bagged by Congress’ HS Mahadeva Prasad in 2013 polls.

In 2017, a by-election was held in the constituency and Geetha had successfully contested on a Congress ticket.

in Arkalgud constituency, AT Ramaswamy of the JD(S) defeated Manju A of the Congress by a margin of 10,653 votes. Manju A is the Minister for Animal Husbandry, Fisheries Department in the Congress government. As per EC data, Ramaswamy got 85,064 votes whereas Manju got 74,411 votes. Manju A had won from here in 2013 elections by a margin of 8,794.

In Bantval, Congress candidate and Minister for Forest B Ramanatha Rai lost elections to BJP’s Rajesh Naik U by a margin of 15,971 votes. While Rai got 81,931 votes, the BJP candidate managed to secure 97,802 votes. Rai had in 2013 polls, won from here by a margin of 17,850 votes.

In Yelburga constituency, Congress candidate and Minister for Higher Education Basavaraj Rayareddy was defeated by BJP’s Achar Halappa Basappa by a margin of 13,318 votes. While Basappa got 79072 votes, the Congress minister secured 65,754 votes. Rayareddy had won from here by a margin of just 169 votes.

In Davanagere North constituency, BJP’s SA Ravindranath defeated Congress’ SS Mallikarjun by a margin of 4,071 votes. While Ravindranath got 76,540 votes, a total of 72,469 people exercised their franchise in favour of Mallikarjun. Mallikarjun had in 2013 won from here by a margin of 57,280 votes. He was appointed as a minister in the Congress government.

In Sagar assembly, Congress candidate and Minister for Revenue and Muzrai Kagodu Thimmappa lost to BJP’s Halappa Harathalu by a margin of 8,039 votes. According to the EC data, Halappa got 78,475 votes whereas the Congress nominee secured 70,436 votes. Thimmappa had in 2013 election won from here by a margin of 41,248 votes.

In Sedam, BJP’s Rajkumar Patil defeated Minister for Medical Education Dr Sharanaparakash Rudrappa Patil by a margin of 7,200 votes. BJP’s Patil got 80,668 votes against Rudrappa who got 73,468 votes. The seat was won by Sharanaparakash Rudrappa Patil by a margin of 11,895 votes.



Sunday Edition

View All

Dabholkar murder case: Sharpshooter in CBI net

19 Aug 2018 | TN RAGHUNATHA | Mumbai

Five years after the renowned rationalist Narendra Dabholkar was shot dead by two unidentified gunmen in Pune, the CBI on Saturday arrested one of the sharp-shooters who allegedly pulled the trigger. Identiying the arrested person as one Sachin Prakashrao Andure from Aurangabad, a senior official said that Andure was one of the sharp-shooters who allegedly shot Dr Dabholkar...

Read More


View All

Ranchi girl wins Int’l beauty contest

19 Aug 2018 | PNS | Ranchi

Yet another girl from the Capital City Khushboo Vijay became the winner of Miss India International Global 2018 and will be representing India next year in Malaysia 2019 for World Finale. The event was held in Guwahati on August 2018...

Read More

Page generated in 0.3847 seconds.