Vihari, Bawne take India A to 322/4 against SA A

| | Bengaluru

Hanuma Vihari struck his 15th first-class hundred as India A recovered from early jitters to consolidate their position reaching 322 for 4 against South Africa A at stumps on the opening day of second four day 'Test'.

Vihari remained unbeaten on 138 having faced 273 balls and added 177 runs for the fourth wicket with Ankit Bawne (80, 146 balls).

This was after India A's in-form opening duo of Prithvi Shaw (16) and Mayank Agarwal (0) encountered a rare failure.

Struggling at 18 for 2, Vihari first steadied the ship with skipper Shreyas Iyer (39) adding 62 for the third wicket. Iyer looked fluent in his 54-ball knock but as it has been the case with him, he got out after getting set.

Vihari hit 13 boundaries and remained unbeaten alongside Kona Bharat (30 batting) in an unroken 65-run stand.

Vihari, who made 54 in the last match, continued with his form and brought India A back on track after they were reduced to 18 for two in 7.1 overs. Bawne's innings was studded with 10 fours. He was caught by wicketkeeper Rudi Second off off-spinner Dane Piedt.

Duanne Olivier, Anrich Nortje, Muthusamy and Piedt bagged one wicket each.

Brief scores

India A first innings: 322 for 4 in 90 overs (Hanuma Vihari 138 not out, Ankit Bawne 80; Duanne Olivier 1/54, Anrich Nortje 1/56, Senuran Muthsamy 1/51, Dane Piedt 1/46).



Sunday Edition

View All

K’taka CM plants paddy saplings in solidarity with agriculturists

12 Aug 2018 | Kestur Vasuki | Bengaluru

Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy who is facing wrath from the farmers in the State, in an appealing gesture planted paddy saplings in solidarity on Saturday. He chose Aralukuppe village in Mandya district the heart land of vokkaliga politics sowed paddy saplings in a muddied agriculture field amidst a large gathering...

Read More


View All

Students felicitated for outstanding leadership on I-Day

18 Aug 2018 | PNS | lOHARDAGA

Four ministers of School Children’s Parliament of Govt Middle school Narauli were felicitated for their outstanding leadership and excellent services in school management on the occasion of 72nd Independence Day. After the flag hoisting programme President Ramdayal Oraon, Prime Minister Sheela Oraon, Education Minister Anjali Oraon and Nutrition Minister Chandmuni Oraon were given certificate of appreciation and Oxford English Grammar book as prize...

Read More

Page generated in 0.2355 seconds.