State Editions

Fifth State Finance Commission formed

| | BHUBANESWAR | in Bhubaneswar

The State Government has formed the Fifth State Finance Commission headed by former State Election Commissioner Rabinarayan Senapati.

The commission would identify assignment of taxes to be levied by the Urban Local Bodies (ULBs) and Panchayati Raj Institutions (PRIs) and recommend what percentage of the State’s own taxes are to be shared with these local body institutions.

According to a notification, the commission would also recommend ways and means for devolution of resources from the State level to ULBs and PRIs for five years and suggest measures to empower these institutions.

The recommendations of the commission would be valid for five years commencing from April 1, 2020.

The commission would have five members including former Professor of Utkal University Samson Maharana, former Municipal Administration Director Sanjib Kumar Mishra and Prof Asit Mohanty of Xavier Institute of Management, said the notification.

Panchayati Raj Department Secretary DRK Singh would act as Associated Member of the commission.

While the First State Finance Commission was headed by Justice SK Mohanty, the second one was formed under the Chairmanship of the then MP Trilochan Kanungo. Eminent economist Sudhakar Panda was Chairman of the Third Finance Commission and former Panchayati Raj Secretary Chinmay Basu headed the fourth commission.




Sunday Edition

Page generated in 0.5575 seconds.