State Editions

Another dynasty takes root in Himachal

| | Shimla | in Chandigarh

Himachal Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh’s son Vikramaditya Singh is likely to contest the forthcoming Assembly polls from Shimla (Rural) constituency from where the Chief Minister was elected in 2013 polls.

Vikramaditya was democratically elected as president of the Himachal Pradesh Youth Congress through internal elections in a model developed and approved by party vice president Rahul Gandhi.

He would be the second prominent son of a leader in the State who will be in electoral politics if given party nomination. Anurag Thakur, BJP Member of Parliament from Hamirpur, is the son of former Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal.

The Chief Minister’s wife, Pratibha Singh too contested the 2014 parliamentary polls from Mandi Lok Sabha constituency but lost. She had earlier represented the seat.

To make a debut in electoral politics, Vikramaditya formally applied for Congress ticket from Shimla (Rural) constituency, represented by his father and Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh on the last day of submission of application on Tuesday.

Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh had already announced that Vikramaditya was most suitable candidate from his constituency and also said that he himself can contest from any constituency except Shimla (Urban).

It would be perhaps for the first time in the State that both the father and son would contest the polls together. As party vice president Rahul Gandhi had declared Virbhadra Singh as the Chief Ministerial candidate of the party, he would be contesting from a suitable seat to become Chief Minister for a record seventh time.

About 400 candidates have applied for 68 seats in the State, including Vikramaditya. The youth Congress leader, who will turn 28 on October 17, said that the Chief Minister can contest from any constituency and would win with massive margin.

He said that the Chief Minister had paid equal attention to every part of the State and winning election was not an issue for him.

The Youth Congress leader said that the BJP, which was earlier claiming to win 60 plus seats, was now talking of winning 50 plus seats but the Congress did not believe in making tall claims and was sure to cross 40 seat mark.

At present Congress has 35 members in the house and one seat was lying vacant while the BJP has 28 MLAs and four seats are held by independents. 




Sunday Edition

Page generated in 0.3324 seconds.