State Editions

BJP announces name of candidates for biennial polls in UP

| | Lucknow | in Lucknow

With a confidence of winning 11 out of 13 Legislative Council seats the Bharatiya Janata Party announced the name of 10 candidates for the biennial polls in Uttar Pradesh which included first timer Vijay Bahadur Pathak leaving one seat for alliance partner Apna Dal S.

The list includes all the legislators from other parties like SP and BSP who had resigned in favour of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and his two deputies Dr Dinesh Sharma and Keshav Prasad Maurya. The BJP list includes names of two Muslims – the junior Haj minister Mohsin Raza and Bukkal Nawab.

Monday is the last date for filing of nominations for 13 seats of the council biennial polls where elections, if required, will be held on April 26.

The BJP candidates are two P Ministers Dr Mahendra Singh and Moshin Raza, whose term end on May 5. Other candidates are Dr Sarojni Agarwal, Bhukkal Nawab, Yashwant Singh, Jaiveer Singh, Vidya Sagar Sonker, Vijay Bahadur Pathak, Ashok Kateria and Ashok Dhawan.

Sarojni Agarwal, Bhukkal Nawab, Yashwant Singh and Jaiveer Singh had resigned as the Samajwadi Party last year to pace way for BJP candidates.

Vijay Bahadur Pathak and Ashok Kateria are first timers and are from the organization.

The Apna Dal(S) ally of BJP has fielded Ashish Singh Patel for the 11th seat.

A candidate would require around 29 votes to get elected in the first round of counting. Going by the count and strength of respective parties in the Vidhan Sabha BJP can win 11 seats, SP 1 and the joint opposition 1.

The BJP-led NDA, which has 324 MLAs can easily win 11 out of 13 seats and will have 5 spare votes. With BSP’s Anil Singh and SP’s Nitin Agarwal defecting to its side, BJP tally goes up to 7. If Vijay Mishra of Nishaad Party votes for BJP then this number will go up to 8 – the number a far cry from the required 29 votes.

 On the other hand, SP with 46 MLAs (after defection of Nitin Agarwal), can easily get at least one member elected and will have 17 votes to spare. The party with support of BSP which has 18 MLAs (after defection of Anil Singh) and 7 of Congress the second opposition candidate can sail through easily.




Sunday Edition

Page generated in 0.3406 seconds.