State Editions

C’garh Cabinet okays proposal to declare 96 Tehsils as ‘drought hit’

| | Raipur | in Raipur

The Chhattisgarh Cabinet on Tuesday approved a proposal to declare 96 Tehsils in 21 out of 27 districts as drought-affected during the Kharif Season 2017.

The Tehsils are located in districts— Raipur, Balodabazar, Gariabandh, Mahasamund, Dhamtari,  Durg, Bemetara, Balod, Rajnandgaon,  Kabirdham, Kondagaon, Dantewada, Kanker, Bilaspur, Mungeli, Janjgir-Champa, Korba, Raigarh, Koriya,  Narayanpur and Bijapur, officials informed.

Drought-affected Tehsils are in Raipur district (4),  Baloda-bazaar district  (6), Gariaband district (3), Mahasamund district (5), Dhamtari district (4), Durg district (3), Balod district (4), Bemetara district (5), Rajnandgaon district (9),  Kabirdham district (4),  Kondagaon district  (4),  Narayanpur district (2), Kanker district  (7), Dantewada district (5),  Bijapur district  (4), Bilaspur district  (8), Mungeli district (3),  Raigarh district  (6), Janjgir Champa district (4), Korba district (1) and Koriya district (5). Employment-oriented schemes will be launched in drought-prone regions in the State.”, Chief Minister Raman Singh said while chairing the Cabinet meeting.

Canal desiltation-channel embankment works will be carried out at the villages and irrigation borewells will be provided with uninterrupted supply of electricity.A proposal to provide 200 days of employment under the MGNREGA had been sent to the Union Government, he said.

Land cess  will be waived in all the drought-affected Tehsils in the entire State.Proposal to redress the drinking water crisis in the affected Tehsils will be sent to the Union Government, Singh said.

Proposal will be sent for subsidized seeds / diesel to the Union Government and there will be total ban on drawing water from bore-wells for irrigation purposes for summer crops (paddy), he said.




Sunday Edition

Page generated in 0.3494 seconds.