• 0


Monday, 30 December 2019 | Mrituanjay Kumar

With the swearing in ceremony of Hemant Soren on Sunday, three more MLAs took oath as Cabinet Minister in the Soren-led coalition Government. As the Government is a coalition one, other than Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Indian National Congress (INC) and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) are also partners of the Government. Two Ministers from INC and one Minister from RJD took oath.

JPCC Chief, Rameshwar Oraon and JPCC Legislature Party Leader, Alamgir Alam and RJD MLA from Chatra took oath as Cabinet Minister.

Rameshwar Oraon

Born on February 14 in 1947, Rameshwar Oraon, was a member of the 14th Lok Sabha. He is representing the Lohardaga constituency of the State and is a member of the Indian National Congress (INC) political party.

He was formerly an Indian Police Service officer of the 1972 batch. He resigned from police service in 2004 to contest the parliamentary election and won on the Congress ticket from Lohardaga.

Oraon was chairperson of the National Commission for Schedule Tribes and is thus ex officio a member of the National Human Rights Commission (NHRC). He also served as the Union Minister of State for Tribal Affairs. On 26 August 2019, Oraon was appointed by the Congress, as the new president of JPCC. He contested the 2019 Jharkhand Assembly Elections from Lohardaga, as a candidate of the INC. He defeated BJP candidate, Sukhdeo Bhagat. He received President Police Medal during his Police Service.

Alamgir Alam

Alam is a four-term MLA from Pakur constituency in the Jharkhand Vidhan Sabha as a member of the INC. He has been elected to the Jharkhand Assembly in 2000, 2004, 2014 and 2019 elections, while he lost in the 2009 elections. In the 2019 Jharkhand Legislative Assembly election, Alam retained his seat, defeating Aquil Akhtar, who had previously held the seat following the 2009 elections. Following the elections in which Congress emerged victorious alongside its coalition partners JMM and RJD, Alam was elected the leader of the Congress Legislature Party. Alam is 65 years old and son of Sanaullah Haque. He is resident of Islampur under Barahawa Police Station in Sahebganj District of the State. Alam has one son and one daughter.

Satyanand Bhokta

Belonging to RJD, Styanand Bhokta is a legislator from Chatra constituency. He was twice the State Legislative Assembly Member from Chatra in 2000 to 2009 as Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) member. He was State Drinking Water and Sanitation and Agriculture minister in the Arjun Munda Government.

In 2014, he joined Jharkhand Vikas Morcha  after BJP denied ticket to him from Chatra. In 2019 Jharkhand State Assembly elections Satyanand Bhokta elected as MLA of Chatra as RJD candidate Bhokta is high school passed and 48 year old. He is son of Jagarnath Bokta and resident of Kari under Sadar Police Station in Deoghar District of the State.

Compiled by  MRITUANJAY KUMAR (Pictures by Ratan Lal)

Sunday Edition

Talktime | ‘Singing is my passion & my first interest’

07 August 2022 | SUPRIYA RAMESH | Sunday Pioneer

Smile with confidence

07 August 2022 | DR RIYA GUPTA | Sunday Pioneer

A Pawfect Day

07 August 2022 | Pioneer | Sunday Pioneer

Book Shaman in the City is the thriller you were looking for

07 August 2022 | Pioneer | Sunday Pioneer


07 August 2022 | Pioneer | Sunday Pioneer

How the role of leadership is changing

07 August 2022 | Pioneer | Sunday Pioneer