Cong Lucknow city unit gets another chief

| | Lucknow
  • 0

Cong Lucknow city unit gets another chief

Tuesday, 02 March 2021 | PNS | Lucknow

In yet another experiment just before the panchayat elections, the Congress on Monday appointed one more president for the Lucknow City unit. His name was included in the list of seven new presidents of district and city Congress committees (DCC) in Uttar Pradesh announced on Monday.
Interestingly, the party had come under sharp criticism when it announced a second president for Lucknow city unit a few months back. After Mukesh Chauhan, the party declared Ajay Srivastava `Ajju' as another president. The Congress leaders claimed that it would only lead to a conflict between Chauhan and Srivastava as both would try to blame or take credit for failure or success of any programme.
Now the party has announced Dilpreet Singh also as Lucknow city unit president (South) along with Mukesh Chauhan and Ajay Srivastava `Ajju'. Interestingly, the area allocation is yet to be announced by the party high command for the three Lucknow city unit presidents.
Interestingly, some veteran leaders hailed the decision of UPCC chief Ajay Kumar Lallu for making three leaders president of the party's city unit in Lucknow.
"All the major demonstrations and protests against the government were organised by the party in the state capital but as the lone Lucknow city unit president failed to ensure a respectable crowd, now at least three presidents would fill that gap and ensure good crowds," said a senior spokesman of the party, adding that every leader should be made office-bearer in the party with a promise that he/she must attend all the party's functions with one or two followers so that big gathering can be ensured at all functions.
It may be mentioned that on the directions of party president Sonia Gandhi, UPCC chief Ajay Kumar Lallu appointed new district unit presidents in  Deoria, Maharajganj, Jalaun, Kanpur Nagar/Dehat, Unnao, Bulandshahr, Lucknow City (South).  
An official statement from the All India Congress Committee said that the Congress president had approved the proposal for appointment of chiefs of seven district/city committees of Congress in UP with immediate effect.
Ramji Giri has been appointed president of Deoria DCC , Sharad Singh Babloo of Maharajganj DCC , Rajiv Narayan Mishra of Jalaun DCC, Amit Kumar Pandey of Kanpur Nagar/ Gramin. The DCC of Unnao will have Arti Bajpai as its president. Bulandshahr district and Lucknow city (South) will have Sheopal Singh and Dilpreet Singh as presidents, respectively.

Sunday Edition

The beautiful Goa Glitch

11 April 2021 | Navneet Mendiratta | Agenda

A rare Jugalbandi

11 April 2021 | Mohammad Irshad | Agenda

For Your Partner

11 April 2021 | Excerpt | Agenda

Astroturf | Controlling the monkey mind

11 April 2021 | Bharat Bhushan Padmadeo | Agenda

Just play

11 April 2021 | MUSBA HASHMI | Sunday Pioneer

Talktime | ‘I like the darker side of people’

11 April 2021 | MUSBA HASHMI | Sunday Pioneer