RS by-poll to be held on June 13

  • 0

RS by-poll to be held on June 13

Friday, 27 May 2022 | PNS | BHUBANESWAR

The Odisha Legislative Assembly Secretariat on Thursday issued a notification for the by-election to a Rajya Sabha seat from the State lying vacant following the resignation of BJD’s Subash Chandra Singh in April this year.


Candidates can file their nomination papers till June 2 while the papers will be scrutinised on June 3. The candidates can withdraw their nominations till June 6.


If required, the polling will be held from 9 am to 4 pm on June 13 while counting will take place at 5 pm the same day.


Notably, Subhas Singh resigned from the post after he was elected as Mayor of the Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC). The poll is being held for the rest of the period that is from April 24, 2022 to April 24, 2026.


Earlier, the Assembly had issued a notification for the biennial poll for three RS seats from the State. The poll will be held on June 10 as the tenure of Rajya Sabha members N Bhaskar Rao, Prasanna Acharya and Sasmit Patra will end on July 1.


The ruling BJD is set to win all the four RS seats as it has as many as 113 members in the 147-seat State Assembly.


Sunday Edition

Religious Interactions – A Reappraisal

26 June 2022 | Susan Mishra | Agenda

A search for self-fulbillment

26 June 2022 | Navin Upadhyay | Agenda

The Trail of Buddha is like a fascinating train journey

26 June 2022 | RAJ KANWAR | Agenda

The art of job-hunting

26 June 2022 | Deepak Kumar Jha | Agenda

Astroturf | Adapt fresh methods proven by research for clear lead

26 June 2022 | Bharat Bhushan Padmadeo | Agenda

Indo-Pacific Eco Framework: Concept to strategy

26 June 2022 | Vivek Mishra/ Mrityunjaya Dubey | Agenda