BJP going to sweep Himachal in LS polls: Thakur

| | Shimla
  • 0

BJP going to sweep Himachal in LS polls: Thakur

Monday, 13 May 2024 | PNS | Shimla

Himachal Pradesh’s senior BJP leader and the Leader of Opposition in Vidhan Sabha Jairam Thakur on Sunday exuded confidence in the saffron party’s win of the Lok Sabha constituencies in the State stating that the Congress is raising “baseless” issues out of frustration.


“There is a positive enthusiasm among the people in the State. We are going to win in the four Lok Sabha constituencies in the State with a huge majority…In the country, it is ‘abki baar, 400 paar’; in Himachal, it is four out of four for the BJP. The Congress is raising baseless issues which shows they are frustrated,” said Thakur.


In the 2019 general election, the BJP won all four seats in the hill state. However, the Congress won the 2021 Mandi bypoll, necessitated following the death of BJP’s Ram Swaroop Sharma who won in 2019 general Lok Sabha election.


On the other hand, the Congress, which is in power in the State, claimed that they were going to have victory in all four seats. “In the last 15 months, our Government has taken decisions for the betterment of the people of the State and we are asking for votes based on our work. I hope that we win all the four Lok Sabha seats in the state,” Chief Minister Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu had said on May 9.


Himachal Pradesh has four Lok Sabha seats — Hamirpur, Mandi, Shimla, and Kangra. The BJP won all four seats in 2019. The elections to the four Lok Sabha seats of Himachal Pradesh and by-polls to the six assembly constituencies that fell vacant with the disqualification of six rebel Congress MLAs will be held on June 1

Sunday Edition

Exploring Moscow: A journey through time

16 June 2024 | Divya Bhatia | Agenda

Celebrate The Ghost Festival In Taiwan

16 June 2024 | Sharmila Chand | Agenda


16 June 2024 | AKANKSHA DEAN | Agenda


16 June 2024 | RUPALI DEAN | Agenda

Astroturf | Personality traits influence the course of destiny

16 June 2024 | Bharat Bhushan Padmadeo | Agenda