From CM to Union Minister: Political heavyweights lead voting charge in Singhbhum

| | Jamshedpur
  • 0

From CM to Union Minister: Political heavyweights lead voting charge in Singhbhum

Tuesday, 14 May 2024 | PNS | Jamshedpur

Amidst the threat of Maoists violence, senior political figures from the Kolhan region, including Chief Minister Champai Soren, former CM Madhu Koda, and Union Minister Arjun Munda, along with other political icons turned up in large numbers to exercise their voting rights in the Singhbhum parliamentary constituency.
The fourth phase of polling in the country commenced at 7:00 am on Monday, with Singhbhum witnessing a significant turnout of voters eager to cast their ballots. Queues formed early at polling stations across the constituency, showcasing the enthusiasm of the electorate. By 9 am, 12.70 percent of the electorate had already exercised their franchise. Notable voting percentages were recorded in different assembly segments, with Chaibasa leading at 13.37 percent, followed by Manjhgaon (12.91 percent), Jagannathpur (12.67 percent), Manoharpur (12.22 percent), and Chakradharpur (12.36 percent) in the afternoon.
In the broader context of the Lok Sabha elections, Chief Minister Champai Soren exercised his voting right at Utkramit Madhya Vidyalaya in Jilinggora, Seraikela-Kharsawan district. His call for active participation resonated across the region, emphasizing the importance of every vote cast.
Political figures made their presence felt as well, with India alliance candidate Joba Manjhi casting her vote in Chakradharpur. MLA Sukhram Oraon exercised his franchise at his village booth in Banmalipur, underscoring the significance of grassroots participation. Minister Deepak Biruwa, accompanied by his wife, cast their votes in Sindrigauri of Hatgamharia block, highlighting the importance of familial involvement in the electoral process.
Meanwhile, BJP candidate Geeta Koda, along with her husband and former chief minister, Madhu Koda participated in the voting process. Union Minister Arjun Munda, contesting from the Khunti Lok Sabha seat, arrived at the Khalarisai booth number 72 under the Kharsawan assembly constituency to cast his vote, accompanied by his wife Meera Munda. He urged citizens to participate enthusiastically in the democratic process, expressing confidence in a BJP-led government at the center.
The Election Commission's meticulous planning was evident, with a total of 64.37 lakh voters expected to participate in the first phase of voting in Jharkhand. To facilitate smooth conduct, 7,595 polling booths were established, with 30,380 polling personnel deployed. Rigorous monitoring, including webcasting and the installation of 15,000 4D cameras, ensured transparency and accountability in the electoral process.
Singhbhum, a reserved constituency for Scheduled Tribes, boasts a substantial electorate of 14.32 lakh voters, with women comprising a significant portion at 7.27 lakh. Currently represented by Geeta Koda, the wife of former Chief Minister Madhu Koda, who has been nominated by the BJP for the upcoming elections. Koda, formerly the lone Congress MP from Jharkhand in the previous Lok Sabha, recently switched allegiance to the saffron party. This constituency comprises six Assembly segments, namely Seraikela, Chaibasa, Majhganon, Jagnathpur, Manoharpur, and Chakradharpur. While Seraikela falls under Seraikela-Kharsawan district, the remaining segments are situated in West Singhbhum district.

Sunday Edition

Vibing to the dance of a 100 drums

12 May 2024 | Navneet Mendiratta | Agenda

Encalm’s warm embrace of Atithi Daivo Bhava

12 May 2024 | Shobori Ganguli | Agenda

Splendid Expedition Across Switzerland

12 May 2024 | AKANKSHA DEAN | Agenda

Let's Goa...

12 May 2024 | Pawan Soni | Agenda

Astroturf | Shape your destiny through conscious efforts

12 May 2024 | Bharat Bhushan Padmadeo | Agenda

Saving the Great Indian Bustard

12 May 2024 | BKP Sinha/ Arvind K jha | Agenda