Haryana BJP short-lists LS poll candidates

| | Chandigarh
  • 0

Haryana BJP short-lists LS poll candidates

Saturday, 02 March 2024 | PNS | Chandigarh

The BJP has short-listed the probable candidates in Haryana for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls at a meeting of its state election committee.

The short-listed names would be sent to the central leadership, leaders of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) said while exuding confidence that the performance of the 2019 general election will be repeated again and the “lotus will bloom on all 10 seats” in the state.

Sources said in addition to the incumbent MPs, party leaders Kuldeep Bishnoi, Abhimanyu, Yogeshwar Dutt, Ashok Tanwar, late Rattan Lal Kataria’s wife Banto Kataria, O P Dhankar and Vipul Goel are among the contenders for the Lok Sabha seats in Haryana.

The BJP won all the 10 parliamentary seats in Haryana in 2019. The Ambala Lok Sabha seat is currently vacant due to the death of MP Rattan Lal Kataria last year.

The saffron party had forged an alliance with the Jannayak Janta Party (JJP) after the 2019 Assembly polls as it fell short of a simple majority in the 90-member state Assembly.

However, in recent months, both the BJP and the JJP have said they are preparing to contest all the 10 Lok Sabha seats and remained non-committal on fighting the upcoming election together.

The state election committee meeting was held in Delhi under the chairmanship of Haryana BJP chief Nayab Singh Saini. Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar, the party’s Haryana in-charge Biplab Kumar Deb and other senior leaders were present.

BJP forms 15-member election panel in Punjab

The Bharatiya Janata Party has formed a 15-member election committee for Punjab, with the state unit president Sunil Jakhar at its helm, to oversee the saffron party’s electoral strategies and campaign in the state.  

The committee comprises prominent leaders including the former Chief Minister Capt Amarinder Singh, Iqbal Singh Lalpura, Union Minister Som Prakash, Tarun Chugh, former state president Ashwani Sharma, former Minister Manoranjan Kalia, former MP Avinash Rai Khanna, Harjeet Singh Grewal, general; secretary (organization) Mantri Srinivasulu, Rakesh Rathore, Dayal Singh Sodhi, Anil Sarin, Jagmohan Singh Raju, and Paraminder Singh Brar.

Capt Amarinder’s daughter, Jai Indar Kaur — who is also the chairperson of the Punjab BJP mahila morcha (women's wing) — is also part of this committee. Additionally, Sudan Singh, the party's state in-charge, and co-in charge Narendra Raina have been specially invited as members to provide valuable insights and guidance.

State Editions

AAP declares candidates for April 26 Mayoral polls

19 April 2024 | Staff Reporter | Delhi

BJP banks on Modi, uses social media to win voters

19 April 2024 | Saumya Shukla | Delhi

Sunita all set to participate in INDIA Bloc rally in Ranchi

19 April 2024 | Staff Reporter | Delhi

Woman boards bus in undergarments; travellers shocked

19 April 2024 | Staff Reporter | Delhi

Bullet Rani welcomed by BJP Yuva Morcha after 65 days trip

19 April 2024 | Staff Reporter | Delhi

Two held for killing man in broad daylight

19 April 2024 | Staff Reporter | Delhi

Sunday Edition

Astroturf | Reinvent yourself during Navaratra

14 April 2024 | Bharat Bhushan Padmadeo | Agenda


14 April 2024 | Biswajeet Banerjee | Agenda

Navratri | A Festival of Tradition, Innovation, and Wellness

14 April 2024 | Divya Bhatia | Agenda

Spiritual food

14 April 2024 | Pioneer | Agenda

Healthier shift in Navratri cuisine

14 April 2024 | Pioneer | Agenda


14 April 2024 | Shobori Ganguli | Agenda