Newly elected C’garh Assembly members administered oath

| | Raipur
  • 0

Newly elected C’garh Assembly members administered oath

Saturday, 05 January 2019 | Staff Reporter | Raipur

On the inaugural session of the fifth Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly, all the 90 members took oath on Friday.

Protem Speaker Rampukar Singh administered oath to Congress as well as JCC (J) and Bahujan Samaj Party members while the newly elected Speaker Charandas Mahant administered oath to members of Bharatiya Janata Party as they were late in reaching the State Assembly.

Around a dozen of Congress members and half-a-dozen BJP members were administered oath in local Chhattisgarhi dialect. The members who took oath in Chhattisgarhi include Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel, newly appointed Leader of Opposition Dharamlal Kaushik, Shivratan Sharma and Brijmohan Agrawal.

Newly elected member from Baikunthpur (Koriya) Ambika Singh Deo took oath in English while newly elected member from Lundra assembly constituency Lundra, Chintamani Maharaj was administered oath in Sanskrit. While former Chief Minister Raman Singh, former Minister Ajay Chandrakar, senior BJP leader Nankiram Kanwar and the lone BJP MLA from Bastar Bhima Mandavi were among those who were administered oath in Hindi.

Sunday Edition

Globe Trotting

19 May 2019 | Agencies | Sunday Pioneer

Left, TMC urge EC to ensure free, fair polling

19 May 2019 | PNS | Sunday Pioneer

Didi’s nephew sends defemation notice to PM

19 May 2019 | Saugar Sengupta | Sunday Pioneer

MoD rejects Vice Admiral Bimal Verma's petition

19 May 2019 | PNS | Sunday Pioneer