Speaker suspends 21 unruly TDP, ADMK MPs

| | New Delhi
  • 0

Speaker suspends 21 unruly TDP, ADMK MPs

Friday, 04 January 2019 | PNS | New Delhi

Cracking the whip on noisy and unruly MPs for the second consecutive day, Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on Thursday suspended 21 Lok Sabha members belonging to the TDP and the AIADMK after they created bedlam in the House and continuously disrupted proceedings of the House despite warned by the Chair.

Mahajan has suspended 45 Lok Sabha members belonging to the TDP and the AIADMK since Wednesday for creating ruckus in the House.

Speaker had suspended 24 AIADMK members on Wednesday for five consecutive sittings. A day later, she suspended 21 members of AIADMK, TDP and an unattached YSR Congress member. The action was taken under rule 374A of Lok Sabha which says that they cannot attend the remaining days of the Session, which concludes on January 8.

While AIADMK has 37 members, the TDP has 15 in the Lower House.

In February, 2014, the then Speaker Meira Kumar had suspended 18 MPs from Andhra Pradesh following bedlam in the House. Those suspended then were either supporting or opposing creation of Telangana.

Proceeding in the Lok Sabha during the Winter Session that commenced on December 11 have been repeatedly stalled due to protests by AIADMK and TDP members over a proposed dam on river Cauvery and special state status to Andhra Pradesh respectively.

While 19 MPs were suspended around noon on Thursday, two others were asked to leave the House around 2.00 pm.

As soon as the Zero Hour commenced at noon on Thursday, AIADMK and TDP members trooped in the Well, raising slogans and carrying banners. The AIADMK members flung papers towards the chair several times. Amid the noisy scenes, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Narendra Singh Tomar appealed to the agitating MPs to return to their seats.

However, protests by the unrelenting members of the two Southern parties continued. At this, the Speaker initially warned that she would be forced to name the unruly members and take action against them.

As the members refused to heed the appeal, the Speaker suspended 11 TDP MPs, seven AIADMK members and an unattached member under Rule 374(A) for the next four sitting of the House.

Among the suspended MPs were former Civil Aviation Minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju (TDP), Thota Narasimham (TDP) and Renuka Butta (unattached) who had won on a YSR Congress ticket.

The Speaker subsequently adjourned the House till 2 pm after conducting business for nearly 15 minutes during the Zero Hour.

When the House met again at 2 pm, some members continued protest in the Well despite being suspended.

She then suspended two more TDP membes for disrupting proceedings. Amid the din, the House was adjourned for the day without taking up the remaining part of debate on the Rafale issue.

State Editions

Poser on city’s Unit-1 Market

24 January 2020 | K Ravi | Bhubaneswar

Ex-BJD MLA held in DA case

24 January 2020 | PNS | Bhubaneswar

Ex-Patna MLA Naik dies

24 January 2020 | PNS | Bhubaneswar

Paddy-laden truck fined Rs 58K in Bhadrak

24 January 2020 | PNS | Bhubaneswar

Cabinet sub-committee inspects paddy procurement

24 January 2020 | Staff Reporter | Raipur

Sunday Edition

Soleimani’s killing: A new chapter in US-Iran enmity

19 January 2020 | Yasir Ali Mirza | Agenda

Will Trump’s trial be an endgame?

19 January 2020 | Manan Dwivedi | Agenda

Weekly Natter

19 January 2020 | Pioneer | Sunday Pioneer

Cheers to Italian luxury

19 January 2020 | Shalini Saksena | Sunday Pioneer

Talktime | ‘TRPs have eaten up content’

19 January 2020 | MUSBA HASHMI | Sunday Pioneer

The rapist is you

19 January 2020 | MUSBA HASHMI | Sunday Pioneer