3 months wait ends, Subhash is Delhi Congress new chief

  • 0

3 months wait ends, Subhash is Delhi Congress new chief

Thursday, 24 October 2019 | Staff Reporter | NEW DELHI

It took more than three months for the Congress leadership to appoint a new president of Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee. The seat had fallen vacant after the death of three time Delhi Chief Minister and two term as  DPCC president Sheila Dikshit on July 20 of this year.

Subhash Chopra who had served as DPCC president for four years got the nod as there was Opposition of the names of possible candidate. Chopra, a three-time MLA from Kalkaji seat had also served as the Speaker of Delhi Assembly. Former  BJP MP Kirti Azad was made the Chairman of Campaign Committee.

Chopra started his political career as a student leader and was elected as president of Delhi University Students Union from 1970 to 71. He has been president of Delhi Congress and this will be his second term as a chief of party Delhi unit.

He was first elected as a member of Delhi Assembly in 1998 and retained his seat in 2003 and 2008. He was Speaker of the Delhi Assembly earlier from June 2003 to December 2003.

Azad, a former cricketer returned to the Delhi Congress after a gap of almost two decades. He was earlier an MLA from Gole market in 1993, but lost the next election and then went over to contest from Dharbhaga in Bihar.

"Congress president has appointed Subhash Chopra as president of the Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee (DPCC).  "Congress president has appointed Kirti Azad as the chairman of the DPCC campaign committee," an official statement said.

Meanwhile, the Congress 'Central Disciplinary Action Committee' on Wednesday issued show cause notice to five of its leader namely Kiran Walia,  Mangatram Singhal, Ramakant Goswami, Rohit Manchanda, and Jitendra Kumar Kochar for issuing public statement against the senior party leaders.

"The Committee has asked for an explanation as to why disciplinary action should not be taken against them for issuing public statement against the senior party leaders. They have been asked to explain within 15 days before 17th November, 2019 failing which appropriate action will be initiated against them, it said in a statement issued by Motilal Vora, Member Secretary of CDAC.

State Editions

Complete lockdown in Hazaribag town for a week

16 July 2020 | Shailesh Sharma | Ranchi

2 more die; 286 more Covid +ve in Ganjam

16 July 2020 | PNS | Bhubaneswar

Puri Baliapanda turns safe haven of criminals

16 July 2020 | SAROJ KUMAR MISHRA | Bhubaneswar

In Brief

16 July 2020 | PNS | Bhubaneswar

‘Atmanirbhar’ will empower poor: BJP

16 July 2020 | PNS | Bhubaneswar

CM Naveen must visit Ganjam: Congress

16 July 2020 | PNS | Bhubaneswar

Sunday Edition

A case for cobots

12 July 2020 | Pradeep David | Agenda

Hope in the times of pandemic

12 July 2020 | Miniya Chatterji | Agenda

Covid tales: The joy of homecoming

12 July 2020 | Vandana Srivastava | Agenda

Astroturf | Unlock the mind to heal

12 July 2020 | Bharat Bhushan Padmadeo | Agenda

Online education: Dispel fear of surveillance

12 July 2020 | Madhav Govind | Agenda

Talktime : ‘I’m enjoying working on OTT platforms’

12 July 2020 | MUSBA HASHMI | Sunday Pioneer