Three held for attack  on Congress MLA

| | Lucknow
  • 0

Three held for attack  on Congress MLA

Thursday, 15 August 2019 | PNS | Lucknow

The Special Task Force arrested three persons in connection with an attack on Congress MLA from Rae Bareli, Aditi Singh, and other zila panchayat members in May. 

The Rae Bareli police had already filed a closure report in the case, claiming that the woman legislator had lodged a fake case. 

However, when the matter was raised by Aditi Singh in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly, the government had explained that the investigating officer had proposed a final report (FIR) but the local circle officer had ordered to probe the matter in detail before coming to any conclusion. 

In May, Aditi Singh along with some zila panchayat members was on way to participate in a no-confidence motion against BJP Lok Sabha candidate from Rae Bareli Dinesh Singh’s brother and zila panchayat chairman Awadhesh Singh, when they were attacked.  

An STF official said on Wednesday that Rohit Singh, Awadhesh Kumar and Jitendra Kumar were arrested from Ashiyana area of Lucknow on Tuesday and the SUV used in the attack and a mobile phone were recovered from them. 

The arrested persons carried rewards of Rs 25,000 each on their arrest. 

The Rae Bareli MLA had also alleged that the attack was orchestrated by zila panchayat chief Awadhesh Singh’s brother Dinesh Singh and their accomplices.

DySP (STF) PK Mishra said, ‘’The accused first thrashed a zila panchayat member Krishan Lal Lodhi and even tried to abduct him but he somehow managed to escape. After this, they attacked other zila panchayat members as well. All three arrested are accomplices of Awadhesh Singh.’’

During questioning, the three arrested are reported to have admitted that they along with Awadhesh Singh were waiting for zila panchayat members near a toll plaza at Bachhrawan. 

A CCTV footage from the toll booth confirmed that they were present there. 

Earlier, Aditi Singh had raised question in the Assembly over the administration’s disinterest in the attack that took place in May. In her FIR, the Congress MLA had named BJP MLC and party’s Lok Sabha candidate Dinesh Singh, his brother Ganesh Singh, zila panchayat chief Awadhesh Singh and several others for the attack.  

Sunday Edition

Game on!

18 August 2019 | Pioneer | Agenda

Krishna, the nation builder

18 August 2019 | Dr. Asha Goswami | Agenda

Happiness in digital world

18 August 2019 | Dr Awdhesh Singh | Agenda

Faith does more than heal

18 August 2019 | Ajit Kumar Bishnoi | Agenda

Astroturf | Let love play the game changer

18 August 2019 | Bharat Bhushan Padmadeo | Agenda

Art for the soul

18 August 2019 | Shalini Saksena | Sunday Pioneer